The Last of the Pascagoula by Rebecca Meredith

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



Kate Lynn has devoted years to bringing her talented, fragile sister Martha’s extraordinary art to the world, while her own life has never quite gotten off the ground. One day, a package arrives from an old friend, a message that will call Kate back to Pascagoula Mississippi, where an Indian tribe had walked into a river rather than be conquered, and where she and Martha began the journey they were now being called to complete. Readers who loved The Help, Swamplandia! and The Secret Life of Bees will enjoy The Last of the Pascagoula.

About Rebecca Meredith

See more books from this Author
Rebecca Woods Meredith grew up on the Mississippi Gulf Coast and moved to the big city of New Orleans at seventeen. Like Kate Lynn, she had an Air Force father and a mother who died when she was young. Unlike Kate, she has two younger sisters with families and careers. Rebecca wrote as a child and teenager, effectively stopped for a number of years as she moved, began but did not finish college, worked in various jobs, found and married Michael, and began raising their two sons, Justin and Andrew. She moved with her young family to Washington State, and in her late thirties she decided it was time to take up the two things that she had left. She returned to school, going on to obtain an MA in clinical psychology and training as a psychoanalyst, and she began writing prose and poetry again. And in both, she rediscovered her love for the unique culture in which she grew up. Rebecca's work has been published in literary magazines, journals, anthologies and other publications. She is an alumna of Hedgebrook Women Writers' Colony and the Jack Straw Writers' Program, and in 2010 she was chosen as the first poet laureate of the city of Redmond, Washington.She currently lives in Seattle with her husband and the latest of her many beloved dogs, but cannot stay away from the Gulf Coast and New Orleans for too long at a stretch.
Published July 19, 2011 by La Sirene Press. 336 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Last of the Pascagoula

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Soon after the accident, Kate and Martha’s father returns to take them away from Pasacagoula and the family of friends that Kate has formed.

Nov 11 2011 | Read Full Review of The Last of the Pascagoula

Reader Rating for The Last of the Pascagoula

An aggregated and normalized score based on 25 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review