The Librarian by Larry Beinhart
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



How on earth did nebbish university librarian David Goldberg end up on Virginia's Ten Most Wanted Criminals list for bestiality? And how did he get ensnared in a vast right-wing conspiracy to steal the presidency? It all begins so innocently when Goldberg starts moonlighting for eccentric, conservative billionaire Alan Carston Stowe as an archivist. But Goldberg's appointment worries a cabal of ruthless right-wingers—ostensibly allies of Stowe, whose money lubricates their zany scary conspiracies—with very close ties to the White House. They fear that Goldberg will find something in Stowe's records that will compromise the dirty tricks involved in re-electing Augustus Winthrop Scott, the dim scion of a powerful Republican political family, for a second term. As the presidential election heads into its final stretch, the hunt is on to remove Goldberg from his position—by any means necessary. The acclaimed, Edgar-winning mystery writer Larry Beinhart returns with this timely novel. In the tradition of Carl Hiassen, Elmore Leonard, and Joe Klein, The Librarian is a frenetic, scary and hilarious thriller that goes deep into the dark heart of election year politics.

About Larry Beinhart

See more books from this Author
Larry Beinhart is the Edgar Award-winning author of American Hero, No One Rides for Free, You Get What You Pay For, and Foreign Exchange. he is also the author of HOW TO WRITE A MYSTERY NOVEL. He was the Raymond Chandler Fellow at Oxford University.
Published August 26, 2004 by Nation Books. 446 pages
Genres: Political & Social Sciences, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Horror, Humor & Entertainment. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Librarian

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

In Larry Beinhart's barely fictional political novel, there's a plan to steal the election, and only a small group of librarians can stop it.

Oct 17 2004 | Read Full Review of The Librarian: A Novel

Reader Rating for The Librarian

An aggregated and normalized score based on 36 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review