The Lion's Grave by Jon Lee Anderson
Dispatches from Afghanistan

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 7 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Two weeks after the terrorist attacks of September 11, New York correspondent and best-selling author Jon Lee Anderson became one of the first Western journalists to get into Afghanistan. Anderson had reported on the mujahideen's war against the communist-backed government in Kabul more than a decade before, but the situation in Afghanistan now was unprecedentedly dangerous even for a seasoned reporter. There were no clearly demarcated front lines, and the roads were full of mines and bandits. Since most of the country had no electricity or phone lines, journalists communicated via satellite phones powered by gasoline generators. Anderson stayed in the country for months, filing stories that illuminate a high-technology conflict in a feudal terrain. In The Lion's Grave these reports are supplemented by vivid first-person e-mail accounts that take the reader onto the ground and into the process of reporting the war. Anderson reported from the court of Burhanuddin Rabbani, the deposed but still-official president of Afghanistan, whose home city of Faizabad was filled with conspiracy theorists and resentful minions. He witnessed the fall of Kunduz, one of the last Taliban bastions, and the interim government's clumsy takeover in Kabul. In post-conflict Kandahar, where he met with an old acquaintance who was the neighbor of Mullah Omar and who turned the city over to the Taliban in 1994, he found evidence that the Taliban were not simply the austere, self-abnegating men they claimed to be. The Lion's Grave also includes a previously unpublished account of the urgent search for Osama bin Laden in the caves of Tora Bora. Distinguished by Anderson's gritty, on-the-ground observations, probing interviews, and extraordinary gift for telling a story, The Lion's Grave is war reporting in the tradition of A. J. Liebling and Michael Herr. It captures the war at its pivotal moments and crystallizes the inherent precariousness of Afghanistan's future. It is destined to become a classic.
 

About Jon Lee Anderson

See more books from this Author
Jon Lee Anderson (born January 15, 1957) is a biographer, author, international investigative reporter, and staff writer for The New Yorker, reporting from war zone locales such as Afghanistan, Iraq, Uganda, Israel, El Salvador, Ireland, Lebanon, Iran, and throughout the Middle East. Anderson has also written for The New York Times, Harper's, Life, and The Nation. Anderson is renowned for his numerous profiles of political leaders, including Hugo Chavez, Fidel Castro, and Augusto Pinochet. Anderson is also the author of the best-selling and definitive 800 + page biography of the iconic Marxist revolutionary Che Guevara. Entitled Che Guevara: A Revolutionary Life, it was first published in 1997. While researching the book in Bolivia, he discovered the hidden location of Guevara's burial from where his skeletal remains were exhumed in 1997 and returned to Cuba.
 
Published November 1, 2002 by Grove Press. 224 pages
Genres: History, Political & Social Sciences, Travel, Business & Economics, Education & Reference, War, Biographies & Memoirs. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Lion's Grave

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

An important and eminently readable account from the heart of chaos.

| Read Full Review of The Lion's Grave: Dispatches ...

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Intense, immediate reporting from the front lines in Afghanistan.

May 20 2010 | Read Full Review of The Lion's Grave: Dispatches ...

The New Yorker

The country’s government, never known for transparency, has been particularly opaque about its dealings with the Chinese businessman behind the project.

Jan 02 2015 | Read Full Review of The Lion's Grave: Dispatches ...

https://www.newyorker.com

A visit to a small town reveals how the memory of the Spanish-American War lives on in the storm-ravaged U.S. territory today.

Oct 18 2017 | Read Full Review of The Lion's Grave: Dispatches ...

https://www.newyorker.com

President Obama’s plan normalized relations. It may also transform the nation.

Oct 03 2016 | Read Full Review of The Lion's Grave: Dispatches ...

https://www.newyorker.com

With Egypt’s air strikes in Libya, the international war against ISIS has widened.

Feb 17 2015 | Read Full Review of The Lion's Grave: Dispatches ...

https://www.newyorker.com

Along with much else that Trump has done since assuming the Presidency, his Cuba directive seems to be a deliberate attempt to dismantle Obama’s legacy.

Jun 16 2017 | Read Full Review of The Lion's Grave: Dispatches ...

Reader Rating for The Lion's Grave
65%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 11 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×