The Long Way Home by Robin Pilcher

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


"The Long Way Home is Robin Pilcher at his best. I devoured every word of this masterful storyteller."—Debbie Macomber, #1 New York Times bestselling author

In the vein of Maeve Binchy, Rosamunde Pilcher, and Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author Robin Pilcher returns with his most enchanting novel yet, filled with captivating twists and turns of heart.
When Claire Barclay receives news that her beloved stepfather has had a stroke, she's more than a little shaken. Leo is her last real relative, and his own children rarely check up on the old man. Claire and her husband, Art, leave New York and fly back to Scotland to care for him during the summer. Their visit makes clear that Leo is no longer capable of living on his own, but he is determined to stay in his beloved old house. Art comes up with the idea of turning the place into a conference center, thinking they could purchase the place from Leo and build him a cottage on the property.
But the situation is much more complicated than it seems. Claire's old flame, Jonas Fairwether, has become Leo's caretaker and trusted confidant. Though Claire distrusts Jonas's motives, Leo chooses to take his advice to put the house up for public auction rather than sell directly to Art and Claire. Claire is immediately suspicious, and even more so when she finds out that another application has been submitted to develop the property. Does Jonas Fairwether want to knock down the Leo's house and build a development? It looks like whoever is behind the plan is being driven by financial gain, but there may be an even stronger motive.
The Long Way Home will keep readers on the edge of their seats. This is a masterful novel from a master storyteller.


About Robin Pilcher

See more books from this Author
Robin Pilcher has spent too long behind the scenes. The son of bestselling novelist Rosamunde Pilcher, he has worked as a farmer, assistant film cameraman, and PR consultant. His first novel, An Ocean Apart, was a New York Times bestseller, and a favorite among Pilcher fans old and new. He lives with his wife and four children near Dundee, Scotland.
Published March 30, 2010 by Thomas Dunne Books. 304 pages
Genres: Romance, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Erotica. Fiction

Reader Rating for The Long Way Home

An aggregated and normalized score based on 54 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review