The Lost Boy by Camilla Lackberg
(Patrick Hedstrom and Erica Falck)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

The resolute avoidance of anything that smacks of exposition slows the pace to a crawl and makes it hard to sift the wheat from the chaff but also gives this glum tale a certain majesty.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

No. 1 international bestseller and Swedish crime sensation Camilla Lackberg's new psychological thriller - irresistible for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. Mats Sverin was Fjallbacka's financial director on a regeneration project worth millions. When he is found murdered, Detective Patrik Hedstrom must find answers. It seems Mats was a man who everybody liked yet nobody really knew - a man with something to hide...Is it just a coincidence that his high school sweetheart, Nathalie, has returned to the area? What does she know about who Mats really was? However, Nathalie has her own secret. Something has made her and her five-year-old son flee to their remote family home on the 'Ghost Isle'. And that is where she'll stay and shield her son from the evils of the world. But, as the murder investigation draws a blank, the police have to dig deeper - and before long, everyone's lives will be dragged into the light ...
 

About Camilla Lackberg

See more books from this Author
Born in 1974, Camilla Lackberg graduated from Gothenburg University of Economics, before moving to Stockholm where she worked for a few years as an economist. However, a course in creative crime writing became the trigger to a drastic change of career. Her seven Fjallbacka novels have all become No 1 bestsellers across Scandanavia. She lives in a suburb of Stockholm with her three children.
 
Published October 11, 2016 by Pegasus Books. 496 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Computers & Technology, Crime, Education & Reference. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Lost Boy
All: 3 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 2

Kirkus

Below average
on Jul 19 2016

The resolute avoidance of anything that smacks of exposition slows the pace to a crawl and makes it hard to sift the wheat from the chaff but also gives this glum tale a certain majesty.

Read Full Review of The Lost Boy (Patrick Hedstro... | See more reviews from Kirkus

NY Journal of Books

Good
Reviewed by D. R. Meredith on Nov 04 2016

In a horrifying conclusion, all the various threads of Sverin's life are woven into a tapestry of lost lives and futile hopes. The Lost Boy is a complex and brilliant novel, but is one of Lackberg’s darkest stories.

Read Full Review of The Lost Boy (Patrick Hedstro... | See more reviews from NY Journal of Books

Star Tribune

Above average
Reviewed by DAVE SHAFFER on Oct 28 2016

Strange things happen on the island, and fishy things happen in the hotel project, but the murder investigation stalls as Hedström and his wife struggle with family issues and newborn twins. The mystery unravels in the final pages with a harrowing ending.

Read Full Review of The Lost Boy (Patrick Hedstro... | See more reviews from Star Tribune

Reader Rating for The Lost Boy
89%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 100 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×