The Lyre of Orpheus by Robertson Davies
(Cornish Trilogy)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews



A magnificent, new novel from a masterful writer--the conclusion to the trilogy that began with The Rebel Angels and continued in the bestselling What's Bred in the Bone.

About Robertson Davies

See more books from this Author
Robertson Davies (1913-1995) had three successive careers during the time he became an internationally acclaimed author: actor, publisher, and, finally, professor at the University of Toronto. The author of twelve novels and several volumes of essays and plays, he was the first Canadian to be inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Letters.
Published January 1, 1989 by Viking Books. 480 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Lyre of Orpheus

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Canadian novelist Davies once again delivers the goods—with this solidly entertaining finale to the trilogy struck up by Rebel Angels (1982) and carried through in What's Bred in the Bone (1985).

Oct 07 2011 | Read Full Review of The Lyre of Orpheus (Cornish ...


(Viking, $19.95) YVES SAINT LAURENT: IMAGES OF DESIGN, 1958-1988 In the rarefied world of French haute couture, Yves Saint Laurent has had an extraordinarily long reign.

Jan 16 1989 | Read Full Review of The Lyre of Orpheus (Cornish ...

London Review of Books

The Rebel Angels, the first novel of the trilogy, begins shortly after the death of Francis Cornish, with the setting-up of the Cornish Foundation, and with Simon Darcourt’s initial brooding over the artistic problems of fitting such a man into a book.

| Read Full Review of The Lyre of Orpheus (Cornish ...

Reader Rating for The Lyre of Orpheus

An aggregated and normalized score based on 14 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review