The Map of Time by Felix J Palma
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

As a whole, I found the book fascinating. Each part is long enough for readers to get inside the heads and feelings of important characters. I would highly recommend The Map of Time to readers who like fiction where historical figures come alive to act out astonishing, but imaginary and motivating roles appropriate for their fame in their own time.
-Blog Critics

Synopsis

An epic, ambitious and page-turning mystery that will appeal to fans of The Shadow of the Wind, Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell and The Time Traveller’s Wife

London, 1896. Andrew Harrington is young, wealthy and heartbroken. His lover Marie Kelly was murdered by Jack the Ripper and he longs to turn back the clock and save her.

Meanwhile, Claire Haggerty rails against the position of women in Victorian society. Forever being matched with men her family consider suitable, she yearns for a time when she can be free to love whom she choses.

But hidden in the attic of popular author – and noted scientific speculator – H.G. Wells is a machine that will change everything.

As their quests converge, it becomes clear that time is the problem – to escape it, to change it, might offer them the hope they need…

 

About Felix J Palma

See more books from this Author
Félix J. Palma has been unanimously acclaimed by critics as one of the most brilliant and original storytellers of our time. The Map of Time was his first book published in the United States. He lives in Spain.
 
Published June 9, 2011 by HarperCollins. 531 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction, Action & Adventure, Crime. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Map of Time
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

AV Club

Good
Reviewed by Samantha Nelson on Jul 27 2011

The novel’s structure works wonderfully, offering a variety of charming protagonists moving through their own disappointments, victories, action-packed climax, and beautiful ending.

Read Full Review of The Map of Time: A Novel | See more reviews from AV Club

Blog Critics

Good
Reviewed by Regis Schilken on Jun 14 2011

As a whole, I found the book fascinating. Each part is long enough for readers to get inside the heads and feelings of important characters. I would highly recommend The Map of Time to readers who like fiction where historical figures come alive to act out astonishing, but imaginary and motivating roles appropriate for their fame in their own time.

Read Full Review of The Map of Time: A Novel | See more reviews from Blog Critics

Reader Rating for The Map of Time
60%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 354 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×