The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan
(Heroes of Olympus, Book 3)

75%

24 Critic Reviews

Here, Riordan’s infectious love for his subject matter really comes through, even as he takes some real risks with his characters.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

In The Son of Neptune, Percy, Hazel, and Frank met in Camp Jupiter, the Roman equivalent of Camp Halfblood, and traveled to the land beyond the gods to complete a dangerous quest. The third book in the Heroes of Olympus series will unite them with Jason, Piper, and Leo. But they number only six--who will complete the Prophecy of Seven? The Greek and Roman demigods will have to cooperate in order to defeat the giants released by the Earth Mother, Gaea. Then they will have to sail together to the ancient land to find the Doors of Death. What exactly are the Doors of Death? Much of the prophecy remains a mystery. . . . With old friends and new friends joining forces, a marvelous ship, fearsome foes, and an exotic setting, The Mark of Athena promises to be another unforgettable adventure by master storyteller Rick Riordan.
 

About Rick Riordan

See more books from this Author
Author Bio: Rick Riordan (www.rickriordan.com) is the author of three different mythology-based series for Disney-Hyperion: the best-selling Percy Jackson series, the Kane Chronicles, and The Heroes of Olympus series. The first book in the Kane Chronicles, The Red Pyramid, was a number 1 New York Times bestseller. The five books in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series have sold millions of copies, been published in more than thirty countries, and inspired a major motion picture. Rick's novels for adults include the hugely popular Tres Navarre series, winner of the top three awards in the mystery genre. He lives in San Antonio, Texas, with his wife and two sons.
 
Published October 2, 2012 by Disney Hyperion. 604 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Mark of Athena
All: 24 | Positive: 19 | Negative: 5

Kirkus

Above average
on Oct 09 2012

Here, Riordan’s infectious love for his subject matter really comes through, even as he takes some real risks with his characters.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Guardian

Good
on Nov 22 2012

This book is the best in the series so far, and the series is for any Greek and Roman myth lover like myself.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of... | See more reviews from Guardian

Examiner

Good
on Oct 02 2012

Rich with mythological elements that are twisted and presented in an engaging and interesting point of view.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

Booklist Online

Excellent
on Oct 01 2012

With a true storyteller’s sense of pacing, Riordan creates another compelling adventure, right down to the cliff-hanger at the end.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

Common Sense Media

Above average
on Oct 02 2012

Sometimes the action stops and readers will want to get back to their old pal Percy again.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

SF Signal

Good
on Jan 09 2013

Rick Riordan gets my vote (and my family’s vote) to fill the void left by the end of the Harry Potter series.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

Fantasy Literature

Above average
Reviewed by REBECCA FISHER on Dec 07 2015

The Mark of Athena is ostensibly meant to be about Annabeth, and though she initially gets lost in the shuffle there are some good insights into her character, and the cliff-hanging conclusion rightfully hinges on her.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

KidsReads

Good
on Oct 25 2012

THE HEROES OF OLYMPUS series has grown in depth and complexity, and Rick Riordan has handled it like a pro.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

KidsReads

Above average
on Oct 02 2012

THE MARK OF ATHENA promises to be another unforgettable adventure by master storyteller Rick Riordan.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

Shiny Book Review

Above average
Reviewed by Shiny Book Review on Oct 17 2012

Better than the previous installments of the series, though not quite to par with the original five books.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

Hypable

Above average
Reviewed by KAREN ROUGHT on Oct 08 2012

On the whole, the book was another success as far as we’re concerned. The funny moments weigh equally with the emotional bits, and the suspense keeps you turning pages...There are a lot of characters aboard the ship, and taking stock of what each one is thinking or doing can become tiresome.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

Hypable

Excellent
on Oct 08 2012

Riordan doesn’t need Hazel in order to strike gold.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

HSJ

Below average
on Oct 29 2012

Riordan, however, does leave his fans a bit dissatisfied. He is a master of cliffhangers after all.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

Bookalicious

Excellent
on Oct 28 2012

The Mark of Athena is one of the best Percy Jackson books I’ve read.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

http://www.iasl-ia.org

Above average
Reviewed by Kenya Arrants on Nov 08 2012

Although the book has some slow moments and is full of cheesy lines, that's part of what readers love about Rick Riordan's books. The book is quite long (608 pages), but plenty of action sequences will keep readers entertained and turning pages.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

Teen Ink

Good
on Jan 04 2013

His amazing twists and agonizing cliffhangers make readers beg for more.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

Teen Ink

Above average
Reviewed by AnubhutiKumar on Mar 24 2014

Pick up a copy of Mark of Athena and experience the roller coaster ride that the Prophecy of Seven leads Percy, Annabeth, and all their friends through!

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

Teen Ink

Good

If I had to recommend a book to someone it would be this one. This book is full of suspense and a bit of romance.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

Fyrefly's Book Blog

Good
on Oct 31 2012

He also handles the relationships and the dynamics between the characters extremely well, which led to some of the most surprisingly moving parts of the story. And, of course, the emotional core of this story is always well-balanced with stuff blowing up and Percy making snarky quips about it.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

Dark Faerie Tales

Good
Reviewed by Kayla on Nov 02 2012

Spectacular scenes will make you laugh, smile and stay up late to finish it (at least I did.) Haven’t read the Heroes of Olympus before? Or even the Percy Jackson series? You poor deprived things. Just kidding! Go read the books now and fall in love with the mythological world and the demigods that inhabit it.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

Parental Book Reviews

Good
Reviewed by Austin on Oct 02 2012

These are marvelous books, and The Mark of Athena is a marvelous addition. A great way of continuing an epic story. And now, I'm left with another year of painful waiting...

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

Alexa Loves Books

Good
on Apr 01 2013

The Mark of Athena was another epic installment in the Heroes of Olympus series. I love how our favorite demigods were all finally brought together to bring the prophecy to life, and all the adventures they encounter (even though I was worried sick about them half the time).

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

Miss Literati

Good
Reviewed by Virginia Van de Wall on Nov 29 2016

THE MARKOF ATHENA did not disappoint us in the least! Full of action, surprises and emotions, Riordan’s novel is a must read for fans of Percy Jackson or Greek mythology in general.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

YA Novelties

Below average
Reviewed by Maya on Oct 11 2012

Every time, and I mean every time, anyone leaves the ship, they are attacked by dead spirits or gods or Gaia or a zombie army. Rick Riordan manages to take a fun and interesting idea and turn it into the longest, worst written, most boring book anyone has ever written.

Read Full Review of The Mark of Athena (Heroes of...

Reader Rating for The Mark of Athena
90%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 9150 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

User Review

Josi Bourland 1 Feb 2017

Rated the book as 5 out of 5

Josi Bourland

Josi Bourland 1 Feb 2017

Liked the book

×