The Marvelous Inventions of Alvin Fernald by Clifford Hicks

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

The Alvin Fernald books have delighted children for close to forty years. These funny, fast-paced mysteries featuring inventor and ace detective Alvin are just right for fans of Encyclopedia Brown and Homer Price--and, now, a new generation of readers. The Foolproof Burglar Alarm. The Sure Shot Paper Slinger. The Portable Fire Escape. Alvin Fernald invented them all. His brain's working a mile a minute--just ask his best friend, Shoie, or his little sister, the Pest. But even Alvin needs to think twice around the old Huntley place. It's like something out of a horror movie--especially because no one's seen Mrs. Huntley in days. Can Alvin and his inventions crack the case?
 

About Clifford Hicks

See more books from this Author
 
Published August 2, 2011 by Purple House Press. 120 pages
Genres: Computers & Technology, Humor & Entertainment, Children's Books, Science & Math, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Marvelous Inventions of Alvin Fernald

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Twelve-year-old Alvin is something of an oddity to his neighbors in the small mid-western town in which he lives.

| Read Full Review of The Marvelous Inventions of A...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

First published in the 1960s, these two mysteries feature a boy inventor. In the first book, Alvin uses a periscope to search out a missing neighbor; in the second, he learns about decoding and uncove

Jun 29 1998 | Read Full Review of The Marvelous Inventions of A...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

First published in the 1960s, these two mysteries feature a boy inventor.

| Read Full Review of The Marvelous Inventions of A...

Reader Rating for The Marvelous Inventions of Alvin Fernald
97%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 22 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review