The Melancholy Countess by Frank Tallis
(Short Story)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


A master of mystery and suspense, Frank Tallis brings back Detective Inspector Oskar Rheinhardt and Dr. Max Liebermann in an eBook short story exclusive—a new, riveting turn-of-the-century tale in the “captivating historical series” (The New York Times Book Review) that is beloved around the world.
Haunted by the sudden death of her grown son, Countess Zigana Nadazdy-Hauke is as unhappy as she is elegant. But is she miserable enough to drown herself in the bath? That’s the conventional wisdom in Vienna. But Rheinhardt and Liebermann have another idea after meeting the poor soul’s much younger widower: Oktav Hauke is handsome and dashing, but also callous to the point of pathology, admittedly abusive, in debt up to his ears, and a serial surviving spouse: He’s lost two other rich older wives to premature deaths. Now he’s the obvious suspect. But can this solution be too simple, as well?
After the shocking ending, catch a preview of Frank Tallis’ thrilling new novel in the series, Death and the Maiden!

About Frank Tallis

See more books from this Author
Frank Tallis is a clinical psychologist and critically acclaimed author of the Liebermann series—A Death in Vienna, Vienna Blood, Fatal Lies, Vienna Secrets, Vienna Twilight, and Death and the Maiden—which has been translated into fourteen languages and optioned for television. Vienna Secrets and Vienna Twilight were both nominated for Edgar Awards. Tallis has received a Writers’ Award from the Arts Council England and the New London Writers Award from the London Arts Board. He has held lecturing posts in clinical psychology and neuroscience at the Institute of Psychiatry and King’s College London.
Published August 27, 2012 by Random House. 67 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Reader Rating for The Melancholy Countess

An aggregated and normalized score based on 5 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review