The Memory of Fire Trilogy by Eduardo Galeano
Genesis, Faces and Masks, and Century of the Wind

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



Now in one collection, the century-spanning trilogy filled with “the wonders of the lands and people of Latin America” (The Washington Post).

Eduardo Galeano’s Memory of Fire Trilogy defies categorization—or perhaps creates its own. It is a passionate, razor-sharp, lyrical history of North and South America, from the birth of the continent’s indigenous peoples through the end of the twentieth century. The three volumes form a haunting and dizzying whole that resurrects the lives of Indians, conquistadors, slaves, revolutionaries, poets, and more.

The first book, Genesis, pays homage to the many origin stories of the tribes of the Americas, and paints a verdant portrait of life in the New World through the age of the conquistadors. The second book, Faces and Masks, spans the two centuries between the years 1700 and 1900, in which colonial powers plundered their newfound territories, ultimately giving way to a rising tide of dictators. And in the final installment, Century of the Wind, Galeano brings his story into the twentieth century, in which a fractured continent enters the modern age as popular revolts blaze from North to South.

This celebrated series is a landmark of contemporary Latin American writing, and a brilliant document of culture. 

About Eduardo Galeano

See more books from this Author
Published April 29, 2014 by Open Road Media.
Genres: History, Political & Social Sciences. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Memory of Fire Trilogy

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

Here is a typical complete chapter from surely the strangest book of history I've ever read....

Jan 08 2008 | Read Full Review of The Memory of Fire Trilogy: G...