The Michael Moorcock Library - Elric, Vol.5 by Roy Thomas
: The Vanishing Tower

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Between the sweeping, action-packed illustrations, and the heroic script, this hardcover graphic novel collection will delight any fan of epic fantasy, and be a welcome addition gracing the shelves of the aficionado’s library.
-NY Journal of Books


Collecting the fifth volume of the classic comic adaptation of Michael Moorcock's bestselling fantasy saga!

     With his reluctant companion Moonglum in tow, the albino emperor embarks upon a perilous quest in search of the dark sorcerer Theleb K'aarna. But in order to achieve his goal, he must first prove himself against the many horrors of the Young Kingdoms and form an unlikely pact with the beautiful and mysterious, Myshella - the Empress of the Dawn.

   • Based on Michael Moorcock's most popular work.

   • Essential reading for all fans of the novels - the epic tales brought to life with luxuriant imagination!

   • Perfect for fans of Fables,Sandman,Elfquest, and A Game of Thrones.

   • Elric's antihero protagonist will also appeal to readers looking for an alternative to Tolkienesque Fantasy.

Praise for Michael Moorcock Library Previous Volumes:

"This spectacular, resplendently flamboyant adaptation is a deliciously elegant, savagely beautiful masterpiece of the genre effortlessly blending blistering action and gleaming adventure with the deep, darkly melancholic tone of the cynical, nihilistic, Cold-War mentality and era that spawned the original stories." - Comics Review

"Fantasy of the highest order, with dragons, pirates and magic swords coming together into an incredibly epic and robust world" - Adventures In Poor Taste

Captures all the weird and terrible beauty of Moorcock's novels, and the new edition is a perfect companion to Titan's other Elric offerings." - Ron Marz (Silver Surfer, Green Lantern)

"Unforgettable action and intrigue...a must-read for any fans of science fiction, sorcery or sword-and-sorcery epics!"- Comics Bulletin

"Richly deserves to be back in print...can't wait to return to the dreaming city!" - SFX

"Working together, these three creators made an adaptation that remains faithful to the original novel but never feels like a mere adaptation or retelling of the source material. They made Michael Moorcock's Elric of Melniboné novel into their great comic book." - Newsarama

About Roy Thomas

See more books from this Author
Archie Goodwin was an important comic book writer and editorArchie Goodwin was an important comic book writer and editor for EC, DC, Marvel, and others. He was born in 1937 and die for EC, DC, Marvel, and others. He was born in 1937 and died in 1998. d in 1998. Steve Englehart is the mastermind behind this epic tale of confused confrontation. Conway was one of the most prolific comic book writers of the 1970s. He was editor-in-chief for a short term in the early 1970s. Len Wein is the co-creator of "Wolverine" and the "New X-Men." He is a former editor in chief of Marvel Comics, Disney Comics, and Top Cow Comics, as well as a senior editor at DC Comics. His previous work includes "The All-New, All-Different X-Men Masterworks; The Untold Legend of Batman; "and" Wonder Woman: Gods and Mortals." He lives in Woodland Hills, California. Evangelist Billy Graham was born November 7, 1918. He was raised on a dairy farm in Charlotte, North Carolina during the Depression. When he was sixteen, during the fall of 1934, he made a commitment to Christ. Graham graduated from the Florida Bible Institute in 1940 and received and B.A. from Wheaton College in 1943. After graduation from Wheaton College, he married fellow student Ruth McCue Bell, the daughter of a missionary surgeon. Graham was ordained to the ministry by a church in the Southern Baptist Convention in 1939. He was the Pastor of the First Baptist Church in Western Springs, IL from 1943-45. He was also Charter Vice President for Youth for Christ International in Chicago, IL from 1945-50. He was President of Northwestern Schools from 1947-52. In 1950, he founded the Billy Graham Evangelistic Association in Minneapolis and began the weekly "Hour of Decision" radio program. Graham has written numerous books and some of the titles include "World Aflame" (1965), which was on the New York Times and Times Magazines best sellers list, "Angels: God's Secret Agents" (1975), which received the ECPA Platinum Book Award, "The Holy Spirit" (1978), which received the ECPA Gold Book Award, "Approaching Hoofbeats: The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse" (1983), which received the ECPA Gold Book Award and his latest, "Just As I Am" (1997) is an autobiography that tells his story as the son of a dairy farmer whose faith in Christ shaped his career and Nearing Home: Life, Faith, and Finishing Well. Billy Graham has received an enormous amount of awards throughout his career, which includes being one of the Ten Most Admired Men in the World from the Gallup Poll forty two times, more than any other person in the world. He has also received the Distinguished Service Medal from the Salvation Army, been in Who's Who in America annually since 1954, received the Gold Medal Award from the National Institute of Social Science in 1957, named Big Brother of the Year in 1966, and received the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 1983, which is the highest civilian award, and the Congressional Gold Medal, which is the highest honor Congress can bestow on a private citizen in 1996. He has received many honorary degrees and Presidents have sought out his counsel. He has been honored for his work on behalf of the welfare of children, his efforts to foster better understanding among all faiths, his contributions to race relations and his contributions to the cause of freedom. Billy Graham and his ministry are known throughout the world and have conducted preaching missions in virtually every country of the former Eastern block, including the former Soviet Union.
Published June 28, 2017 by Titan. 168 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Comics & Graphic Novels, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Horror, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Michael Moorcock Library - Elric, Vol.5
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

NY Journal of Books

Reviewed by Toni V. Sweeney on Aug 07 2017

Between the sweeping, action-packed illustrations, and the heroic script, this hardcover graphic novel collection will delight any fan of epic fantasy, and be a welcome addition gracing the shelves of the aficionado’s library.

Read Full Review of The Michael Moorcock Library ... | See more reviews from NY Journal of Books

Rate this book!

Add Review