The Midwife's Tale by Samuel Thomas
A Mystery

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

The Midwife’s Tale is a history/mystery that is wonderful to fall into and not escape till the end.
-NY Journal of Books

Synopsis

In the tradition of Arianna Franklin and C. J. Sansom comes Samuel Thomas’s remarkable debut, The Midwife’s Tale

It is 1644, and Parliament’s armies have risen against the King and laid siege to the city of York. Even as the city suffers at the rebels’ hands, midwife Bridget Hodgson becomes embroiled in a different sort of rebellion. One of Bridget’s friends, Esther Cooper, has been convicted of murdering her husband and sentenced to be burnt alive. Convinced that her friend is innocent, Bridget sets out to find the real killer.

Bridget joins forces with Martha Hawkins, a servant who’s far more skilled with a knife than any respectable woman ought to be. To save Esther from the stake, they must dodge rebel artillery, confront a murderous figure from Martha’s past, and capture a brutal killer who will stop at nothing to cover his tracks. The investigation takes Bridget and Martha from the homes of the city’s most powerful families to the alleyways of its poorest neighborhoods. As they delve into the life of Esther’s murdered husband, they discover that his ostentatious Puritanism hid a deeply sinister secret life, and that far too often tyranny and treason go hand in hand.

 

About Samuel Thomas

See more books from this Author
SAM THOMAS teaches history at University School, an independent boys' school outside Cleveland, Ohio. He lives in Shaker Heights with his wife and two sons. The Midwife's Tale is his first novel, and readers can expect a sequel in 2014.
 
Published January 8, 2013 by Minotaur Books. 321 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Midwife's Tale
All: 2 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 1

Dear Author

Above average
Reviewed by Jayne on Jan 31 2013

While it’s lovely to see the 17th century utilized as a setting and I learned a lot about York and midwifery (is that the correct term?), I can’t say that this book got me much more than lukewarm as far as a mystery. I just couldn’t get caught up in the anger, tension and fear that I should have felt.

Read Full Review of The Midwife's Tale: A Mystery | See more reviews from Dear Author

NY Journal of Books

Good
Reviewed by Diane Brandley on Jan 08 2013

The Midwife’s Tale is a history/mystery that is wonderful to fall into and not escape till the end.

Read Full Review of The Midwife's Tale: A Mystery | See more reviews from NY Journal of Books

Reader Rating for The Midwife's Tale
83%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 213 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×