The Mill River Recluse by Darcie Chan

69%

10 Critic Reviews

If this book hadn’t of been a book club read, I wouldn’t have even finished it. I’d have abandoned it pretty quickly, because Mary wasn’t a character that grabbed me, nor was I interested in Claudia and Kyle’s modern day whirlwhind romance.
-All the Books I Can Read

Synopsis

The sensational New York Times bestseller The Mill River Recluse reminds us that friendship, family, and love can come from the most unexpected places. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy.

From the outside, Mill River looks like any sleepy little Vermont town where everyone knows everyone and people never need to lock their doors. There are newcomers for whom this appeals, from police officer Kyle Hansen and his daughter Rowen, who are starting over after heartache, to Claudia Simon, the schoolteacher who is determined to reinvent herself.
 
But on closer inspection, there are those in Mill River—including a stealthy arsonist, a covetous nurse, and a pilfering priest—who have things they wish to hide. None more than the widow Mary McAllister, who for the past sixty years has secluded herself in her marble mansion overlooking the town. Most of the residents have never even seen the peculiar woman. Only the priest, Father O’Brien, knows the deep secrets that keep Mary isolated—and that, once revealed, will forever change the community.
 
Praise for The Mill River Recluse
 
“[Darcie] Chan’s sweet novel displays her talent. . . . A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together.”—Kirkus Reviews
 
“A heartwarming story.”—Examiner.com

“A real page-turner.”—IndieReader
 

About Darcie Chan

See more books from this Author
Darcie Chan was born in Wisconsin and grew up in the small towns of Brandon, Wisconsin, La Junta and Cheraw, Colorado, and Paoli, Indiana. She has two younger sisters.Thanks to loving and supportive parents who are both educators, she learned to read and write at an early age. As a child, she fell in love with books and became quite obsessed with Walter Farley's Black Stallion series of books, among many others. Her passion for reading and writing continued through college at Indiana University, Bloomington, and law school at the University of Baltimore. Currently, she is an attorney with the Office of the Legislative Counsel, United States Senate, where she drafts federal environmental, climate change, and natural resource legislation.In her spare time, Darcie enjoys spending time with her family, reading, writing fiction, gardening, playing piano, and cooking. She lives in northern Westchester County, New York, with her husband (whom she first met as a senior in high school at a national science competition), their son, and two cats.The Mill River Recluse is her first novel.
 
Published May 18, 2011 by Ballantine Books. 385 pages
Genres: History, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Romance. Fiction
Bestseller Status:
icon3
Peak Rank on Sep 25 2011
icon25
Weeks as Bestseller
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Mill River Recluse
All: 10 | Positive: 8 | Negative: 2

Kirkus

Above average
on Jul 21 2011

...this is not a novel that strives to break new ground, but rather settles in one’s lap like a familiar cat.

Read Full Review of The Mill River Recluse | See more reviews from Kirkus

Examiner

Good
on Mar 02 2012

This author gives a heartwarming story along with some suspense without revealing all the mysteries and secrets of the story until the final chapter.

Read Full Review of The Mill River Recluse

The Bookbag

Above average
on Nov 19 2012

One to enjoy rather than think too closely about, for sure, but enjoy it you will.

Read Full Review of The Mill River Recluse

IndieReader

Good
Reviewed by Kelly Faircloth on Jul 11 2011

While the back-and-forth might sound tough to follow, it’s actually quite suspenseful. It breaks up the narrative and turns The Mill River Recluse into a real page-turner. The author doles out her information about Mary carefully, and with every chapter break we’re left wanting more.

Read Full Review of The Mill River Recluse

About.com Bestsellers

Good

This is a good beach read...Darcie Chan is an author to watch.

Read Full Review of The Mill River Recluse

Red Online

Excellent
on Dec 13 2012

A touching story that encompasses the whole gamut of human behaviour with love and charity.

Read Full Review of The Mill River Recluse

All the Books I Can Read

Below average
on Mar 19 2012

If this book hadn’t of been a book club read, I wouldn’t have even finished it. I’d have abandoned it pretty quickly, because Mary wasn’t a character that grabbed me, nor was I interested in Claudia and Kyle’s modern day whirlwhind romance.

Read Full Review of The Mill River Recluse

Swamp of Boredom

Below average
Reviewed by Melissa on Dec 04 2011

Unfortunately, The Mill River Recluse did not disprove my theory that there are hundreds of books that are overlooked gems. The search continues.

Read Full Review of The Mill River Recluse

Beth's Book-Nook Blog

Above average
on Sep 13 2011

All in all, this was a good “beach read” for me – an end of summer, positive, not-too-mentally-taxing tale that kept me coming back to see how it would end. I would have loved this book when I was in high school.

Read Full Review of The Mill River Recluse

Storeybook Reviews

Good
on Aug 19 2011

Darcie does a great job at bringing all of the characters to life and interweaving their lives. Nearly everyone has some sort of secret.

Read Full Review of The Mill River Recluse

Reader Rating for The Mill River Recluse
77%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 1671 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

User Review

Emily G 10 Apr 2013

Rated the book as 0.5 out of 5

×