The Miss Silver Mysteries by Patricia Wentworth
Grey Mask, The Case Is Closed, and Lonesome Road

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


The first three Miss Silver Mysteries introduce the British governess-turned-sleuth and a “timelessly charming” series (Charlotte MacLeod).

From a “first-rate storyteller,” here are three full-length mystery novels in one volume, set in England between the two world wars and featuring Maud Silver, a retired governess and teacher who embarks on a new career in private detection (The Daily Telegraph).
Grey Mask
After four years wandering the jungles of India and South America, Charles Moray has come home to England to collect his inheritance. Strangely, he finds his family estate unlocked and sees a light in one of its abandoned rooms. Eavesdropping, he learns of a conspiracy to commit a fearsome crime. His first instinct is to let the police settle it, but then he hears her voice: Margaret, his long lost love, is part of the gang. To unravel their diabolical plot, he contacts Miss Silver.
The Case Is Closed
Marion Grey is growing used to the idea that her husband will never be released from prison, especially after the horrors of the very public trial. But when new evidence suggests her husband may be innocent of murder after all, she hires a professional—the inimitable Miss Silver—to clear his name.
Lonesome Road
A terrified young woman asks Miss Silver for help unmasking someone who has threatened her life. Rachel Traherne has been receiving menacing letters about her deceased father’s fortune. The first two letters were vague; the third said simply, “Get ready to die.”

These charming traditional British mysteries featuring the unstoppable Miss Silver—whose stout figure, fondness for Tennyson, and passion for knitting disguise a keen intellect and a knack for cracking even the toughest cases—are sure to delight readers of Agatha Christie, Ellis Peters, and Dorothy L. Sayers.


About Patricia Wentworth

See more books from this Author
Patricia Wentworth, pseudonyme de Dora Amy Elles, est née en 1878 à Mussorie (Inde). C'est à la suite d'un concours organisé par le Daily Mail, en 1923, que le public découvre les romans policiers de Patricia Wentworth, déjà connue pour ses ouvrages historiques. Cinq ans plus tard, elle crée un détective hors du commun : Miss Maud Silver. Prototype du Armchair Detective, Miss Silver, tout comme sa cadette Miss Marple (qui ne verra le jour qu'en 1930, sous la plume d'Agatha Christie), est une délicieuse vieille dame douée d'un don d'observation hors pair. Héroïne d'une trentaine d'intrigues, Miss Silver assurera dès lors la renommée de Patricia Wentworth, décédée en 1961.
Published June 28, 2016 by Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller. 701 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense. Fiction