The Mother's Promise by Sally Hepworth
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

Sally Hepworth novels are "sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up." —Library Journal (starred review)

All their lives, Alice Stanhope and her daughter, Zoe, have been a family of two, living quietly in Northern California. Zoe has always struggled with crippling social anxiety and her mother has been her constant and fierce protector. With no family to speak of, and the identity of Zoe’s father shrouded in mystery, their team of two works—until it doesn’t. Until Alice gets sick and needs to fight for her life.

Desperate to find stability for Zoe, Alice reaches out to two women who are practically strangers but who are her only hope: Kate, a nurse, and Sonja, a social worker. As the four of them come together, a chain of events is set into motion and all four of them must confront their sharpest fears and secrets—secrets about abandonment, abuse, estrangement, and the deepest longing for family. Imbued with heart and humor in even the most dismal moments, The Mother’s Promise is an unforgettable novel about the unbreakable bonds between mothers and daughters and the new ways in which families are forged.

 

About Sally Hepworth

See more books from this Author
 
Published February 21, 2017 by St. Martin's Press. 384 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Romance. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Mother's Promise

http://theblurb.com.au

But while there are moments of despair, so too are there moments of hope – and even humour – as the ensemble of characters face life-changing circumstances that could either make or break them.

Nov 01 2018 | Read Full Review of The Mother's Promise: A Novel

Reader Rating for The Mother's Promise
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 103 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×