The Narnia Code by Michael Ward
C. S. Lewis and the Secret of the Seven Heavens

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



Millions of readers have been captivated by C. S. Lewis’s famed Chronicles of Narnia, but why? What is it about these seven books that makes them so appealing? For more than half a century, scholars have attempted to find the organizing key—the “secret code”—to the beloved series, but it has remained a mystery. Until now.
In The Narnia Code, Michael Ward takes the reader through each of the seven Narnia books and reveals how each story embodies and expresses the characteristics of one of the seven planets of medieval cosmology—Jupiter, Mars, Sol, Luna, Mercury, Venus and Saturn—planets which Lewis described as “spiritual symbols of permanent value.”
How does medieval cosmology relate to the Christian underpinnings of the series? How did it impact Lewis’s depiction of Aslan, the Christlike character at the heart of the books? And why did Lewis keep this planetary inspiration a secret? Originally a ground-breaking scholarly work called Planet Narnia, this more accessible adaptation will answer all the questions.

About Michael Ward

See more books from this Author
Michael Ward is Chaplain at St Peter's College, University of Oxford. He is the author of Planet Narnia (2008) and the co-editor, with Ben Quash, of Heresies and How to Avoid Them (2007).
Published October 25, 2010 by Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.. 208 pages
Genres: Religion & Spirituality, Literature & Fiction, Science & Math, Education & Reference. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Narnia Code

The Aquila Report

But the overt symbolism in the first Narnian tale, hinted at so much more beneath the surface of the Narnia tales.

Dec 30 2010 | Read Full Review of The Narnia Code: C. S. Lewis ...

Reader Rating for The Narnia Code

An aggregated and normalized score based on 39 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review