The Never Fable by Steven Brandsdorfer

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



Before his severe head trauma is ever diagnosed, Daniel Never wanders from the hospital where he has woken onto the dark streets of Manhattan, unaware of why or when he made the trip from Philadelphia. Motivated by the psychological effects of his injuries, the suggestions of voices in his mind and the unusual tales of his dreams, the year to follow throws him, his family and the characters of his delusions into both real-life turmoil and an unlikely struggle that has spanned the course of American history.

The Never Fable is, on its surface, a thriller centered around the trappings of post-traumatic psychosis, homelessness, substance abuse and rehabilitation. But beneath that surface lies great adventure - a type of historical and religious mythology paralleling Daniel's grandfather's war stories and the endless babbling of his family's television set. Throughout, Daniel flies full-speed from Andrew Jackson's invasion of Spanish Florida to everyday frustrations with an ex-girlfriend, between the bizarre death of Zachary Taylor and the difficulty of simply finding a job, from the battles of the American Civil War to the nuisances of therapy sessions and hospital visits, and then back again, full-circle, to a shocking solution to all of Daniel's problems.

This is Steven Brandsdorfer's debut novel, a work of pure fiction written over many years and inspired by the fine line between reality and everything else.

About Steven Brandsdorfer

See more books from this Author
Romance author Jayne Ann Krentz was born in Borrego Springs, California on March 28, 1948. She received a B.A. in history from the University of California at Santa Cruz and a Masters degree in library science from San Jose State University. Before becoming a full-time author, she worked as a librarian. Her novels include: Truth or Dare, All Night Long, and Copper Beach. She has written under seven different names: Jayne Bentley, Amanda Glass, Stephanie James, Jayne Taylor, Jayne Castle, Amanda Quick and Jayne Ann Krentz. Her first book, Gentle Pirate, was published in 1980 under the name Jayne Castle. She currently uses only three personas to represent her three specialties. She uses the name Jayne Ann Krentz for her contemporary pieces, Amanda Quick for her historical fiction pieces, and Jayne Castle for her futuristic pieces. She has received numerous awards for her work including the 1995 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Trust Me, the 2004 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Falling Awake, the Romantic Times Career Achievement Award, the Romantic Times Jane Austen Award, and the Susan Koppelman Award for Feminist Studies for Dangerous Men and Adventurous Women: Romance Writers on the Appeal of the Romance.
Published May 7, 2012 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. 282 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Never Fable

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

An inventive, ambitious story that seeks to explain both recent history and why one man, Daniel Never, can remember fighting with Andrew Jackson but not what happened to him yesterday.

Aug 01 2012 | Read Full Review of The Never Fable

Rate this book!

Add Review