The Nostradamus Traitor by John E. Gardner

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



A widow’s plea sucks a spy into the web of a decades-old plot against the Third Reich
Though she approaches the guard at the Tower of London like any other tourist, Frau Fenderman’s question does not concern the crown jewels. She wants to know where her husband, a Nazi spy captured in 1941, was executed and buried. The inquiry is passed on to Big Herbie Kruger, an aging spy who is smart enough to know that, three decades after war’s end, the darkest secrets are yet to be told. A massive man whose heavy features obscure a nimble intelligence, Kruger loves drink, Mahler, and espionage. Digging into Fenderman’s story, he uncovers a staggering plot against the life of one of Hitler’s right-hand men—a scheme whose failure nearly lost England the war. As he uncovers more about this forgotten operation, Kruger finds that the oldest secrets are sometimes the most lethal.

About John E. Gardner

See more books from this Author
John Gardner, one of the authors of the well-known James Bond stories, was born in Northumberland, England on November 20, 1926. He attended Cambridge University and was a member of the Royal Marines. He became a journalist and a critic after leaving the service. Gardner's first novel was "The Liquidator" (1964) and it introduced the character Boysie Oakes. In the 1970's, he wrote a series of novels known as the Moriarty Journals, which brought back Professor Moriarty, Sherlock Holmes' nemesis. In the 1980's, the holders of the James Bond copyright commissioned him to begin a new series with 007. The first Bond novel written by Gardner was "License Renewed" (1981), which was a success. From that point on, Gardner produced a new Bond novel every year, with the exception of 1985, until he retired from the series in 1996. The Bond titles that followed were "For Special Services" (1982), "Icebreaker" (1983), "Role of Honour" (1984), "Nobody Lives Forever" (1986), "No Deals, Mr. Bond" (1987), "Scorpius" (1988), "Win, Lose, or Die" (1989), "Brokenclaw" (1990), "The Man from Barbarossa" (1991), "Death is Forever" (1992), "Never Send Flowers" (1993), "Seafire" (1994), and "Cold" (aka Cold Fall) (1996).
Published May 7, 2013 by Road. 288 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Horror. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Nostradamus Traitor

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

A jumpy and complex spy puzzle—scooting back and forth between 1941 and 1978—that's pretty darn good but should perhaps have been a great deal better; one often has the feeling with the prolific John Gardner (The Werewolf Trance) that a really first-rate spy novel would emerge if he'd...

Mar 30 2012 | Read Full Review of The Nostradamus Traitor

Rate this book!

Add Review