The O. Henry Prize Stories 2006 by Laura Furman
The Best Stories of the Year

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



A radiant reflection of contemporary fiction at its best, The O. Henry Prize Stories 2006 features stories from locales as diverse as Russia, Zimbabwe, and the rural American South. Series editor Laura Furman considered thousands of stories in hundreds of literary magazines before selecting the winners, which are accompanied here by short essays from each of the three eminent jurors on his or her favorite story, as well as observations from all twenty prize winners on what inspired them. Ranging in tone from arch humor to self-deluding obsessiveness to fairy-tale ingenuousness, these stories are a treasury of potential classics.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

About Laura Furman

See more books from this Author
Laura Furman, series editor of The PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories since 2003, is the winner of fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts for her fiction. The author of seven books, including her recent story collection The Mother Who Stayed, she taught writing for many years at the University of Texas at Austin. She lives in Central Texas.
Published January 18, 2010 by Anchor. 381 pages
Genres: Young Adult, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The O. Henry Prize Stories 2006

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Most of the prize stories turn on romance: in Alice Munro's "Passion" (already published in her collection Runaway) , a Canadian waitress falls for her fiancé's alcoholic brother when he mends her cut foot at a Thanksgiving family dinner.

Mar 27 2006 | Read Full Review of The O. Henry Prize Stories 20...

Rate this book!

Add Review