The Oaken Throne by Robin Jarvis
(The Deptford Histories, Book 2)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



The second book of the Deptford Histories brings readers into a time when a series of dark wars between the bats and the squirrels has raged for years. The squirrel leader, the Starwife, has been betrayed and poisoned. As she lies dying, she summons a falcon to take the magic Silver Acorn to safety. Far away, the squirrel maiden Ysabelle is unaware of the devastating events. But she rescues the Silver Acorn and embarks on a perilous journey to return it. Along the way, she meets Vespertilio, a young bat who has dreamed of waging battle against the squirrels.

In this gripping prequel to the Deptford Mice trilogy, the battle of good and evil reaches new heights as Vesper and Ysabelle desperately attempt to save their lands from destruction.


About Robin Jarvis

See more books from this Author
Robin Jarvis was born in England and studied graphic design in college. While working at a TV and advertising company that created animal characters, he began making sketches of mice. These drawings spurred the idea for the Deptford Mice. His first book, The Dark Portal, was short-listed for the 1989 Smarties Book Prize in England.
Published August 18, 2005 by Chronicle Books. 384 pages
Genres: Nature & Wildlife, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Oaken Throne

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Ysabelle gathers a motley assortment of unlikely assistants, notably the bat Vesper, once a prisoner eager to slaughter the “tree rats,” now her passionately devoted knight.

| Read Full Review of The Oaken Throne (The Deptfor...

Rate this book!

Add Review