The Only Girl in the World by Maude Julien
A Memoir

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Without giving away the ending, when this world begins to crack — letting in enough light for Julien to squint and see beyond — the story takes on the energy of a thriller, building on the reader’s hectic desire for her escape.
-NY Times

Synopsis

AN AMAZON BEST BOOK OF THE MONTH.
For readers of Room and The Glass Castle, an astonishing memoir of one woman rising above an unimaginable childhood.

Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate survivor--raising her in isolation, tyrannizing her childhood and subjecting her to endless drills designed to "eliminate weakness." Maude learned to hold an electric fence for minutes without flinching, and to sit perfectly still in a rat-infested cellar all night long (her mother sewed bells onto her clothes that would give her away if she moved). She endured a life without heat, hot water, adequate food, friendship, or any kind of affectionate treatment.

But Maude's parents could not rule her inner life. Befriending the animals on the lonely estate as well as the characters in the novels she read in secret, young Maude nurtured in herself the compassion and love that her parents forbid as weak. And when, after more than a decade, an outsider managed to penetrate her family's paranoid world, Maude seized her opportunity.

By turns horrifying and magical, The Only Girl in the World is a story that will grip you from the first page and leave you spellbound, a chilling exploration of psychological control that ends with a glorious escape.
 

About Maude Julien

See more books from this Author
 
Published December 12, 2017 by Little, Brown and Company. 289 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Health, Fitness & Dieting, Professional & Technical. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Only Girl in the World
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

NY Times

Good
Reviewed by Nell Casey on Dec 29 2017

Without giving away the ending, when this world begins to crack — letting in enough light for Julien to squint and see beyond — the story takes on the energy of a thriller, building on the reader’s hectic desire for her escape.

Read Full Review of The Only Girl in the World: A... | See more reviews from NY Times

Rate this book!

Add Review
×