The Other Side of Summer by Emily Gale

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

The reason for the bombing is not explained, nor is there an easy path through sorrow, but Part 3 brings resolution...A bittersweet, hopeful coming-of-age story complicated by loss, saved by love, that ends with a song.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

A heartfelt and voice-driven novel with just a touch of magic, Emily Gale's The Other Side of Summer is perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead.

Ever since her brother Floyd died, Summer’s world has been falling apart. Her mom is a ghost of her former self, her older sister is angry all the time, and her dad wants to move the family to Australia. It seems like the only thing unchanged in their lives is Floyd’s guitar, which was returned to the family perfectly unharmed by the bombing that killed him.

Once Summer arrives in Australia, she feels even further away from Floyd than before. Until she works up the courage to play his guitar. When she plays, something amazing—perhaps even magical—happens. Summer starts to feel less alone. But even with a little magic on her side, only Summer will be able to find her way through her grief to whatever the other side may bring.

“This pitch-perfect story is full of hope and magic. Exquisite and unforgettable.”—Fiona Wood, author of Six Impossible Things, Wildlife, and Cloudwish

 

About Emily Gale

See more books from this Author
EMILY GALE's nickname as a child was "Kojak" (for younger readers, that is a 1970s television show about a big bald man who sucked lollipops and solved crimes and said, "Who loves ya, baby?" a lot). Emily is scared of chickens, but not of spiders. Visit her at www.emilygale.co.uk and follow her on Twitter @EmilyGale.
 
Published May 30, 2017 by HarperCollins. 336 pages
Genres: Children's Books.
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Other Side of Summer
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Above average
on Mar 06 2017

The reason for the bombing is not explained, nor is there an easy path through sorrow, but Part 3 brings resolution...A bittersweet, hopeful coming-of-age story complicated by loss, saved by love, that ends with a song.

Read Full Review of The Other Side of Summer | See more reviews from Kirkus
×