The Outcasts by John A. Flanagan
Brotherband Chronicles, Book 1

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

From the author of the global phenomenon Ranger's Apprentice!

They are outcasts. Hal, Stig, and the others - they are the boys the others want no part of. Skandians, as any reader of Ranger's Apprentice could tell you, are known for their size and strength. Not these boys. Yet that doesn't mean they don't have skills. And courage - which they will need every ounce of to do battle at sea against the other bands, the Wolves and the Sharks, in the ultimate race. The icy waters make for a treacherous playing field . . . especially when not everyone thinks of it as playing. John Flanagan, author of the international phenomenon Ranger's Apprentice, creates a new cast of characters to populate his world of Skandians and Araluens, a world millions of young readers around the world have come to know and admire. Full of seafaring adventures and epic battles, Book 1 of The Brotherband Chronicles is sure to thrill readers of Ranger's Apprentice while enticing a whole new generation just now discovering the books.

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.

 

About John A. Flanagan

See more books from this Author
John Flanagan (www.BrotherbandChronicles.com) lives in Manly, Australia.
 
Published January 1, 2012 by Puffin. 464 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Outcasts

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

First in the Brotherband Chronicles, a companion series to the bestselling Ranger’s Apprentice books, this nautical adventure from Flanagan takes place in the northern land of Skandia.

Oct 24 2011 | Read Full Review of The Outcasts: Brotherband Chr...

The Wall Street Journal

See more reviews from this publication

As the young man contends with the implacable hatred of the toughest boy in his age cohort and undergoes the trials and hazing of Skandian training, readers ages 11-17 will get great vicarious enjoyment from joining Hal and his flawed band of brothers as they go from "outcasts" to heroes .

Oct 29 2011 | Read Full Review of The Outcasts: Brotherband Chr...

Common Sense Media

There's lots of talk about Hal's mentor Thorn and his years of drinking, but he quits in order to be a positive figure in Hal's life.

Nov 01 2011 | Read Full Review of The Outcasts: Brotherband Chr...

KidsReads

As the new recruits form the new Brotherbands, the teams they will train and compete with, Hal is essentially rejected along with the other misfits.

Nov 01 2011 | Read Full Review of The Outcasts: Brotherband Chr...

SBY Teens

The first book in a companion series to the popular Ranger’s Apprentice series, The Outcasts shifts locations from Araluen to Skandia.

Aug 09 2012 | Read Full Review of The Outcasts: Brotherband Chr...

Reader Rating for The Outcasts
91%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 547 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×