The Paris Enigma by Pablo De Santis
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

In the tradition of Caleb Carr’s The Alienist and Eric Larsen’s The Devil in the White City comes The Paris Enigma, a gripping tale of murder and the art of crime solving. Written in a strikingly original voice, and poignantly evoking a world about to lose its innocence forever, The Paris Enigma features two detectives who find themselves in a race against time around glorious fin de siècle Paris, encountering all manner of secret societies and solving philosophical puzzles, while also trying to save a dangerously beautiful woman.
 

About Pablo De Santis

See more books from this Author
A journalist and comic-strip creator who became editor in chief of one of Argentina’s leading comics magazines, Pablo De Santis is the author of six critically acclaimed novels, one work of nonfiction, and a number of books for young adults. His works have been published in more than twenty countries. He lives in Buenos Aires.
 
Published October 29, 2008 by HarperCollins e-books. 258 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Young Adult, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Paris Enigma

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Salvatrio is too modest to think he might become Craig’s acolyte, but he excels at the training and, when the most promising student is murdered while on assignment, Craig anoints Salvatrio, and he assists the master in the solution of his classmate’s demise and its ghastly denouement, a second m...

Nov 01 2008 | Read Full Review of The Paris Enigma: A Novel

The Wall Street Journal

See more reviews from this publication

Salvatrio has been sent to Paris on the eve of the World's Fair to take his boss's place at the first gathering of the Twelve Detectives -- the best and the brightest from around the world.

Nov 15 2008 | Read Full Review of The Paris Enigma: A Novel

Book Reporter

Salvatrio became that person and could not have been a better choice, for Salvatrio claimed, “I wasn’t really interested in gory crimes, but the other kind: the perfect enigmas, the ones that, at first glance, were inexplicable.” Salvatrio was particularly intrigued by the closed-door cases.

Jan 14 2011 | Read Full Review of The Paris Enigma: A Novel

Bookmarks Magazine

Sent in place of a conspicuously absent Renato Craig, founding member of The Twelve, his novice assistant Sigmundo Salvatrio arrives, bearing a secret message for the brilliant, brooding Viktor Arzaky, Craig's best friend and the society's cofounder.

Nov 16 2008 | Read Full Review of The Paris Enigma: A Novel

ReviewingtheEvidence.com

To that end, he joins the Buenos Aires academy of the great detective Renato Craig, founding member of The Twelve – a group of the most famous detectives in the world.

| Read Full Review of The Paris Enigma: A Novel

Reader Rating for The Paris Enigma
57%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 15 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×