The Quiet Dogs by John Gardner
(The Herbie Kruger Novels)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


As the KGB closes in, Kruger will do anything to save his most important agent
Though he may look oafish, Big Herbie Kruger is one of Her Majesty’s finest, and it takes a stroke of genius for the KGB to capture him. When all appears lost, he escapes and returns to England, but finds that though he survived the ordeal, his reputation didn’t. His old colleagues fear he has been compromised, and an agent under suspicion is no agent at all. Given a desk job out of courtesy, Kruger soon finds a way to escape the office. In Moscow, the agent who captured him is circling around one of Kruger’s greatest informants—the high-level spy who leads the dissident group known as “the quiet dogs.” After a year out of the game, Big Herbie is about to be given one last throw of the dice.

About John Gardner

See more books from this Author
John Gardner, one of the authors of the well-known James Bond stories, was born in Northumberland, England on November 20, 1926. He attended Cambridge University and was a member of the Royal Marines. He became a journalist and a critic after leaving the service. Gardner's first novel was "The Liquidator" (1964) and it introduced the character Boysie Oakes. In the 1970's, he wrote a series of novels known as the Moriarty Journals, which brought back Professor Moriarty, Sherlock Holmes' nemesis. In the 1980's, the holders of the James Bond copyright commissioned him to begin a new series with 007. The first Bond novel written by Gardner was "License Renewed" (1981), which was a success. From that point on, Gardner produced a new Bond novel every year, with the exception of 1985, until he retired from the series in 1996. The Bond titles that followed were "For Special Services" (1982), "Icebreaker" (1983), "Role of Honour" (1984), "Nobody Lives Forever" (1986), "No Deals, Mr. Bond" (1987), "Scorpius" (1988), "Win, Lose, or Die" (1989), "Brokenclaw" (1990), "The Man from Barbarossa" (1991), "Death is Forever" (1992), "Never Send Flowers" (1993), "Seafire" (1994), and "Cold" (aka Cold Fall) (1996).
Published May 7, 2013 by Road. 320 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review