The Rainaldi Quartet by Paul Adam

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


Who would want to kill Tomaso Rainaldi, an elderly, unassuming violin-maker in the quiet Italian city of Cremona? For his friend and fellow violin-maker Gianni Castiglione, the murder is as mysterious as it is shocking. Rainaldi had few possessions, no enemies and little money. No one - least of all the police - can fathom a motive for murdering him. All he really had was an obsessive love of violins and an encyclopedic knowledge of them.

But what if he knew more than anyone else - not just about famous violins, but about missing violins? Ones of the caliber of the fabled Messiah, Stradivari's most sublime creation, the Mona Lisa of the music world. A violin now in the Ashmolean Museum in Oxford - and worth millions…

Aided by his friend, policeman Antonio Guastafeste, Gianni starts to investigate the dead man's affairs. Affairs that reveal an appointment in Venice with the eccentric and exceedingly rich violin-collector Enrico Forlani, and a trail that winds back to a mysterious musical past - and a far from harmonious future.
Retracing Rainaldi's steps, the two men find themselves involved in a sequence of startling events -- another murder, a mysterious Englishman, and an unscrupulous violin-dealer. A chain of events that careers across Italy and England as they become players in a game where musical instruments change hands for millions, forgery is an art form, and the preferred method of negotiation is murder.

Accompanied by two centuries of myth, music, and mystery, The Rainaldi Quartet provides a fascinating glimpse into a closed world - played at a rhythm that is fast-paced, furious, and unforgettable.


About Paul Adam

See more books from this Author
Paul Adam was born in Coventry in 1958. He studied law at Nottingham University, then began a career in journalism. Paul Adam's books have sold widely around the world and have been translated into several foreign languages. Adam is the author of a number on critically-acclaimed thrillers for adults including: Unholy Trinity, Shadow Chasers, Flash Point, Sleeper, and Paganini's Ghost. He is also the author of the Max Cassidy series for younger readers. The first book in the series, Escape from Shadow Island won the Salford Children's Book Award 2010 and was shortlisted for 4 other awards.
Published February 21, 2006 by Minotaur Books. 317 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Reader Rating for The Rainaldi Quartet

An aggregated and normalized score based on 28 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review