The Ranger by Ace Atkins

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 8 Critic Reviews



Fans of Justified and James Lee Burke will love Mississippi lawman Quinn Colson…
The first Quinn Colson novel from the author of The Lost Ones, The Broken Places,  and The Forsaken

After years of war, Army Ranger Quinn Colson returns home to the rugged, rough hill country of northeast Mississippi to find his native Tibbehah County overrun with corruption, decay, meth runners, and violence. His uncle, the longtime county sheriff, is dead. A suicide, he’s told, but others—like tomboy deputy Lillie Virgil—whisper murder.

In the days that follow, it’s up to Colson to discover the truth, not only about his uncle, but about his family, his friends, his town, and himself. And once it’s discovered, there’s no going back for this real hero of the Deep South.

About Ace Atkins

See more books from this Author
Ace Atkins is the author of White Shadow, Wicked City, Devil's Garden, Infamous, and four Nick Travers novels. He lives on a farm outside Oxford, Mississippi.
Published June 9, 2011 by Berkley. 368 pages
Genres: Crime, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Ranger

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

On the other hand, there’s Deputy Lillie Virgil, holding a dissenting view, which she maintains the on-scene evidence supports, though no one, including Quinn at first, seems in any way persuaded.

Apr 18 2011 | Read Full Review of The Ranger

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Best known for historical thrillers like Infamous, Atkins kicks off a new series with a solid action-packed yarn featuring U.S. Army Ranger Quinn Colson.

Apr 04 2011 | Read Full Review of The Ranger

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

Even though all the ones I read tread the waters of historical fiction and The Ranger is a fictional book, Mr. Atkins’ writing style, southern locals, and overall feel of his books are what kept me coming back.

Jun 07 2011 | Read Full Review of The Ranger

Book Reporter

At the top of the list is a shady local entrepreneur and real estate developer, who claims that Colson's uncle had defaulted on a loan secured by a homestead owned by Colson's family for generations.

Jun 13 2011 | Read Full Review of The Ranger

Tampa Bay Times

When a novel opens with a pregnant young woman named Lena walking along a Mississippi road looking for the runaway daddy of her baby, you know you're in Faulkner country.

Oct 15 2011 | Read Full Review of The Ranger

Spinetingler Magazine

The Ranger begins with, waddaya know, an Army Ranger named Quinn Colson returning home to Tibbehah County in northern Mississippi to bury his uncle, the county sheriff.

Sep 29 2011 | Read Full Review of The Ranger

Chicago Sun Times

A fast-paced thriller set in a backwoods Mississippi hamlet beset with violence and corruption, The Ranger (Putnam, $25.95) is the enticing first novel in a new series by Southern author Ace Atkins.

Jun 18 2011 | Read Full Review of The Ranger

Sun Sentinel

"The Ranger" also perceptively illustrates the struggle of returning soldiers, from Quinn's musings to the actions of his best friend, Boom, an African-American who lost an arm during a battle.

Jun 19 2011 | Read Full Review of The Ranger

Reader Rating for The Ranger

An aggregated and normalized score based on 186 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review