The Ravaged Lands 1900-1914 by Michael Owen Mahoney

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


This is the story of the people, places, and events of the first fifteen years of the 20th Century in Eastern Europe. This is the first of several volumes (approximately seven) that will cover the entire 20th Century. The story is told in historical present tense to put the reader in the action as it occurs. You will meet saints, sinners, generals, whores, spies, mistresses, kings, queens, tsars, holy men, politicians, traitors, and also ordinary people just trying to live quietly in a tumultuous time. Witness the 1st and 2nd Balkan Wars, the Romanian Peasant Revolt, the Young Turk Revolt, and the beginning of World War I through the eyes and actions of the actual participants.

No thesis  is presented. This is a historical narrative. Just the facts, told in entertaining, chronological order.

About Michael Owen Mahoney

See more books from this Author
Michael Owen Mahoney is a lifelong scholar of 20th Century Eastern Europe. He studied history at LSU and LA Tech University before retiring to a quiet mountain in Arkansas. He lives and writes with his beloved wife in Stone County.
Published March 1, 2013 by Pucker Up Press, LLC. 503 pages
Genres: History, Travel, Biographies & Memoirs. Non-fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review