The Red Orchestra by V. E. Tarrant

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



A fascinating account of one of the most successful spying operations of World War II

Long recognized as one of the most successful (and ruthless) spy networks in history, the Red Orchestra was a group of Soviet cells that operated throughout Germany and occupied Europe until late 1943. The Germans knew of its existence as early as 1941. Yet, it was only after two years of dogged detective work, lucky breaks, interrogation, and betrayals that they were able to silence the Red Orchestra for good. By that time the damage had been done and the Third Reich was facing extinction. Now, The Red Orchestra offers readers a unique opportunity to learn the complete story of Russia's hidden war against Nazi Germany. Vividly recreating a shadowy world of intrigue and espionage in war-torn Europe, The Red Orchestra introduces all the major players and describes spectacular feats of espionage performed right under the Germans' noses.

Contains new research based on original sources A real-life spy story containing all the drama and suspense of the best spy fiction The first book to explore all three sectors of the spy operation: the Grand Chef's Western circuit in France, Belgium, and Holland; Die Rote Drei in Switzerland; and the Berlin network

V. E. TARRANT (South Wales, Great Britain) is a military and naval historian and author of several books on World War II.


About V. E. Tarrant

See more books from this Author
Romance author Jayne Ann Krentz was born in Borrego Springs, California on March 28, 1948. She received a B.A. in history from the University of California at Santa Cruz and a Masters degree in library science from San Jose State University. Before becoming a full-time author, she worked as a librarian. Her novels include: Truth or Dare, All Night Long, and Copper Beach. She has written under seven different names: Jayne Bentley, Amanda Glass, Stephanie James, Jayne Taylor, Jayne Castle, Amanda Quick and Jayne Ann Krentz. Her first book, Gentle Pirate, was published in 1980 under the name Jayne Castle. She currently uses only three personas to represent her three specialties. She uses the name Jayne Ann Krentz for her contemporary pieces, Amanda Quick for her historical fiction pieces, and Jayne Castle for her futuristic pieces. She has received numerous awards for her work including the 1995 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Trust Me, the 2004 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Falling Awake, the Romantic Times Career Achievement Award, the Romantic Times Jane Austen Award, and the Susan Koppelman Award for Feminist Studies for Dangerous Men and Adventurous Women: Romance Writers on the Appeal of the Romance.
Published January 1, 1995 by Arms and Armour. 224 pages
Genres: History, War, Political & Social Sciences, Travel. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Red Orchestra

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

The information that came from the headquarters of the German High Command enabled the Russians to surround the German Sixth Army at Stalingrad and to predict precisely the direction and strength of the German attack in the great tank battle of Kursk.

| Read Full Review of The Red Orchestra

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Recruiting sympathizers and resisters in France, the Low Countries and eventually Germany, until 1943 Trepper kept remarkably accurate data flowing to Moscow through his radio operators-the ""pianists,"" dubbed the Red Orchestra.

| Read Full Review of The Red Orchestra

Rate this book!

Add Review