The Rime of the Modern Mariner by Nick Hayes

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 6 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

An extraordinary, timely update on the classic Coleridge poem

Is it possible to update a masterpiece? Only, perhaps, with a brand-new masterpiece. Written in 1797, “The Rime of the Ancient Mariner” was the original eco-fable; drawn in 2010, The Rime of the Modern Mariner is a graphic novel, now set in the cesspool of the North Atlantic Garbage Patch—thus adding a timely and resonant message about the destruction of our seas.

Hayes’s visually striking debut is drawn with complex, iconic images reminiscent of old woodcuts. Emerging from every exquisite page are the poem’s enduring themes: compassion for nature, a sense of connection among all living things, and rightful outrage at man’s thoughtless destruction of the environment. Powerful and evocative, lush and stark, The Rime of the Modern Mariner will appeal to fans of Habibi and Persepolis.

 

About Nick Hayes

See more books from this Author
NICK HAYES is a political cartoonist for The Guardian and was a founding editor of Meat Magazine, which showcased new writing, comics, and illustrations. He has won two Guardian media awards.
 
Published October 25, 2012 by Viking Adult. 336 pages
Genres: Comics & Graphic Novels, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Rime of the Modern Mariner

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

After hearing the mariner’s soliloquy, the divorcé brushes it off, returning “To a world detached of consequence / Where he would not live for long.” The reader will likely find the story far more moving, as the nightmarish imagery trumps the occasional tendency toward thematic overkill.

Aug 29 2012 | Read Full Review of The Rime of the Modern Mariner

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

In Coleridge's The Rime of the Ancient Mariner, a wizened seadog meets three gallants on their way to a wedding and detains one of them in order to recount his terrifying story.

Apr 03 2011 | Read Full Review of The Rime of the Modern Mariner

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

This mariner’s boat is trapped in a floating archipelago of fouled plastic garbage (much like the real one, the size of a country, which swirls today in the Pacific), which mutely rebukes the viewpoint of the businessman and his “world detached of consequence.” Hayes is a political cartooni...

Jul 30 2012 | Read Full Review of The Rime of the Modern Mariner

Open Letters Monthly

His ever-changing page design – whether a solitary image without words, a series of images interspersed amongst the text, or a many-layered page of overlapping pictures, to name just a few – has an irresistible momentum that seems to inherently reflect back upon the pace of the poem itself.

Oct 02 2011 | Read Full Review of The Rime of the Modern Mariner

Monsters and Critics

drawn in 2010, The Rime of the Modern Mariner is a graphic novel, now set in the cesspool of the North Atlantic Garbage Patch-thus adding a timely and resonant message about the destruction of our seas.Hayes\'s ...more Samuel Taylor Coleridge’s cautionary classic eco-apocalyptic poem penned ...

Dec 08 2012 | Read Full Review of The Rime of the Modern Mariner

The Blurb

I held off reading this graphic novel as I worried that not having read the classic poem that inspired it would hinder my appreciation (I have since rectified this and you can read it online or download it for free here).

| Read Full Review of The Rime of the Modern Mariner

Rate this book!

Add Review