The Rise and Fall of Communism by Archie Brown

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

“A work of considerable delicacy and nuance….Brown has crafted a readable and judicious account of Communist history…that is both controversial and commonsensical.”
—Salon.com

“Ranging wisely and lucidly across the decades and around the world, this is a splendid book.”
—William Taubman, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Khrushchev: The Man and His Era

The Rise and Fall of Communism is the definitive history from the internationally renowned Oxford authority on the subject. Emeritus Professor of Politics at Oxford University, Archie Brown examines the origins of the most important political ideology of the 20th century, its development in different nations, its collapse in the Soviet Union following perestroika, and its current incarnations around the globe. Fans of John Lewis Gaddis, Samuel Huntington, and avid students of history will appreciate the sweep and insight of this epic and astonishing work.

 

About Archie Brown

See more books from this Author
Archie Brown is Emeritus Professor of Politics at Oxford University. With The Rise and Fall of Communism, he has won the W.J.M. Mackenzie Prize of the Political Studies Association of the UK for best political science book of the year for a second time. He also received that award for one of his earlier books, The Gorbachev Factor. He lives in England.
 
Published June 2, 2009 by HarperCollins e-books. 756 pages
Genres: History, Political & Social Sciences. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Rise and Fall of Communism

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

In the US, communism was little more than a joke, except to those who needed to have reds under their beds to make their politics more interesting (Brown retells the story of an American communist in the heart of 1920s New York who, in his zeal to imitate Lenin, appealed to the "workers and peasa...

Jun 05 2009 | Read Full Review of The Rise and Fall of Communism

The Economist

See more reviews from this publication

Archie Brown's new history of communism identifies three big questions, perhaps even the biggest, of the past century.

Jul 02 2009 | Read Full Review of The Rise and Fall of Communism

The Telegraph

Communism could not be allowed to be diluted in the Soviet bloc, .

May 30 2009 | Read Full Review of The Rise and Fall of Communism

The Bookbag

He identifies six defining characteristics of Communism and debates the difference between Communism (the political idea), communism (as a final stage of social development) and socialism.

Apr 10 2010 | Read Full Review of The Rise and Fall of Communism

Reader Rating for The Rise and Fall of Communism
79%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 24 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×