The Rise of the Iron Moon by Stephen Hunt

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

From the author of The Court of the Air and The Kingdom Beyond the Waves comes a thrilling new adventure set in the same Victorian-style world. Perfect for fans of Philip Pullman and Susanna Clarke.

Born into captivity as a product of the Royal Breeding House, friendless orphan Purity Drake suddenly finds herself on the run with a foreign vagrant from the North after accidentally killing one of her guards.

Her strange rescuer claims he is on the run himself from terrible forces who mean to enslave the Kingdom of Jackals as they conquered his own nation. Purity doubts his story, until reports begin to filter through from Jackals’ neighbours of the terrible Army of Shadows, marching across the continent and sweepign all before them.

But there’s more to Purity than meets the eye. As Jackals girds itself for war against and army of near-unkillable beasts serving an ancient evil with a terrible secret, it soon becomes clear that their only hope is a strange little royalist girl and the last, desperate plan of an escaped slave.

 

About Stephen Hunt

See more books from this Author
Jack Cloudie is STEPHEN HUNT’s fifth novel set in his fantastical steampunk universe. In addition to being a novelist, Hunt has worked as a writer, editor, and publisher for a number of magazines and national newspaper groups in the UK, and is currently employed on an artificial intelligence project. He is the founder of www.SFcrowsnest.com. Born in Canada, the author presently lives in London and spends part of the year with his family in Spain.
 
Published February 5, 2009 by Harper Voyager. 467 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Rise of the Iron Moon

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Kyorin, representative of Martian humans who have been resisting evil overlords for eons, makes contact with author Molly Templar, who in turn rouses wily old U-boat captain Commodore Black, the eerie outlaw Oliver Brooks and others.

| Read Full Review of The Rise of the Iron Moon

The Wall Street Journal

See more reviews from this publication

If she could ever read "The Company Man"—the thought is half a steampunk plot by itself—she would have to change her mind.

May 07 2011 | Read Full Review of The Rise of the Iron Moon

Open Book Society

When Samuel Osmond sees two pairs of mysterious dice in a store for role-playing games, he thinks they’d be fun to show off at a cosplay event.

May 28 2012 | Read Full Review of The Rise of the Iron Moon

Shelf Awareness

In the 1990s, faced with the prospect of a big-block bookstore moving in across the street, the owners commissioned a study on the economic impact of spending money at locally-owned stores rather than at chains.

| Read Full Review of The Rise of the Iron Moon

Albedo One

There are also a host of other characters who steal the viewpoint, which switches around within unbalanced chapters (the first chapter is a whopping 53 pages, the second chapter weighs in in at 32 pages, whereas the third chapter is only 5 pages).

Dec 22 2010 | Read Full Review of The Rise of the Iron Moon

Reader Rating for The Rise of the Iron Moon
70%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 21 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×