The Rose Throne by Mette Ivie Harrison

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

There’s a certain amount of murderous violence and a small amount of kissing, both oddly passionless...whether there’s a sequel to wrap up the dangling plotlines is unclear. Also unclear is whether readers will want it.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Richly-imagined fantasy romance from the author of Princess and the Hound, a tale of two princesses--one with magic, one with none--who dare seek love in a world where real choice can never be theirs. For fans of Megan Whalen Turner, Catherine Fisher, and Cassandra Clare. 

Ailsbet loves nothing more than music; tall and red-haired, she's impatient with the artifice and ceremony of her father's court. Marissa adores the world of her island home and feels she has much to offer when she finally inherits the throne from her wise, good-tempered father. The trouble is that neither princess has the power--or the magic--to rule alone, and if the kingdoms can be united, which princess will end up ruling the joint land? For both, the only goal would seem to be a strategic marriage to a man who can bring his own brand of power to the throne. But will either girl be able to marry for love? And can either of these two princesses, rivals though they have never met, afford to let the other live?
 

About Mette Ivie Harrison

See more books from this Author
Mette Ivie Harrison has a PhD from Princeton Uni­versity and is the author of several novels for teens. She lives with her family in Utah. Visit her online at www.metteivieharrison.com.
 
Published May 14, 2013 by EgmontUSA. 400 pages
Genres: Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Young Adult, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Rose Throne
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Below average
on Feb 18 2013

There’s a certain amount of murderous violence and a small amount of kissing, both oddly passionless...whether there’s a sequel to wrap up the dangling plotlines is unclear. Also unclear is whether readers will want it.

Read Full Review of The Rose Throne | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for The Rose Throne
55%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 17 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×