The Ruins of Gorlan by John A. Flanagan
(Ranger's Apprentice, Book 1)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 11 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

The international bestselling series with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone!

They have always scared him in the past—the Rangers, with their dark cloaksand shadowy ways. The villagers believe the Rangers practice magic that makes them invisible to ordinary people. And now 15-year-old Will, always small for his age, has been chosen as a Ranger's apprentice. What he doesn't yet realize is that the Rangers are the protectors of the kingdom. Highly trained in the skills of battle and surveillance, they fight the battles before the battles reach the people. And as Will is about to learn, there is a large battle brewing. The exiled Morgarath, Lord of the Mountains of Rain and Night, is gathering his forces for an attack on the kingdom. This time, he will not be denied. . . .

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones / A Song of Ice and Fire series. 
 

About John A. Flanagan

See more books from this Author
John Flanagan (www.BrotherbandChronicles.com) lives in Manly, Australia.
 
Published June 8, 2006 by Puffin Books. 257 pages
Genres: Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Ruins of Gorlan

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Sturdily competent fantasy from a veteran Australian screenwriter, this quartet opener introduces five teenaged orphans raised together in the medieval-like kingdom of Araluen, focusing on the apprenticeship of wiry, clever Will to a mysterious scout/spy, and on Will's changing relations with ove...

May 20 2010 | Read Full Review of The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

As Will learns archery and stealth techniques, he makes peace with Horace (who is being tormented by older classmates at Battleschool), and the two must then travel with a contingent of Rangers and warriors to fight invading, ""almost invincible"" Kalkara-bearlike assassins sent by Morgarath to k...

| Read Full Review of The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's...

Examiner

Young adult readers and fantasy fans of all ages will appreciate that the Spokane County Library District has made several books from Australian author John Flanagan's popular "Ranger's Apprentice" series available in the Digital Downloads section of their website.

Jun 21 2012 | Read Full Review of The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's...

Teen Ink

Teen Ink has 2 forums for you to choose from:.

Jun 28 2015 | Read Full Review of The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's...

Teen Ink

Teen Ink has 2 forums for you to choose from:.

Jun 28 2015 | Read Full Review of The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's...

BellaOnline

Past Issues.

Jan 31 2013 | Read Full Review of The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's...

KidsReads

He doesn't draw a parallel between the schoolyard battles and the greater forces that threaten the kingdom, but young readers are likely to identify with the experiences of the young characters.

Jun 08 2006 | Read Full Review of The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's...

https://www.commonsensemedia.org

Such Ranger apprenticeships are rare, but it's still hard to see his nemesis Horace head off for Battle School instead of him.

Jan 15 2015 | Read Full Review of The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's...

Arlington Library

The author of the Ranger's Apprentice series, John Flanagan, kept the suspense going from book one to book ten.

Jun 14 2012 | Read Full Review of The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's...

http://bookstove.com

... Book Review: The Ranger's Apprentice: Book One: The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan and whether or not it's worth your time and money ...

Oct 29 2010 | Read Full Review of The Ruins of Gorlan (Ranger's...

Reader Rating for The Ruins of Gorlan
89%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 1488 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×