The Rules Do Not Apply by Ariel Levy
A Memoir

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 11 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A gorgeous memoir about a woman overcoming dramatic loss and finding reinvention—for readers of Cheryl Strayed and Joan Didion

When Ariel Levy left for a reporting trip to Mongolia in 2012, she was pregnant, married, financially secure, and successful on her own terms. A month later, none of that was true.

Levy picks you up and hurls you through the story of how she built an unconventional life and then watched it fall apart with astonishing speed. Like much of her generation, she was raised to resist traditional rules—about work, about love, and about womanhood.

In this “deeply human and deeply moving” (The New York Times Book Review) memoir, Levy chronicles the adventure and heartbreak of being, in her own words, “a woman who is free to do whatever she chooses.” Her story of resilience becomes an unforgettable portrait of the shifting forces in our culture, of what has changed—and of what is eternal.

Praise for The Rules Do Not Apply

“Levy has the rare gift of seeing herself with fierce, unforgiving clarity. And she deploys prose to match, raw and agile. She plumbs the commotion deep within and takes the measure of her have-it-all generation.”—The Atlantic

“[The Rules Do Not Apply] is a short, sharp American memoir in the Mary Karr tradition of life-chronicling. Which is to say that Levy, like Karr, is a natural writer who is also as unsparing and bleakly hilarious as it’s possible to be about oneself. . . . I devoured her story in one sitting.”—Financial Times

“It’s an act of courage to hunt for meaning within grief, particularly if the search upends your life and shakes out the contents for all the world to sift through. Ariel Levy embarks on the hunt beautifully in her new memoir.”—Chicago Tribune

“I read it in one big messy gulp, because it is beautiful and heartbreaking and unruly and real. You should preorder it immediately so you can fall into her complicated, funny, and finely wrought world as soon as humanly possible.”—Lenny.com

“A thoroughly modern memoir, the elements of The Rules Do Not Apply seem plucked not from the script of Girls, which has also been exploring reproductive issues of late, but Transparent—even Portlandia.”—The New York Times

“Frank and unflinchingly sincere . . . A gut-wrenching, emotionally charged work of soul-baring writing in the spirit of Joan Didion, Helen Macdonald, and Elizabeth Gilbert, The Rules Do Not Apply is a must-read for women.”—Bustle

“Unflinching and intimate, wrenching and revelatory, Ariel Levy’s powerful memoir about love, loss, and finding one’s way shimmers with truth and heart on every page.”—Cheryl Strayed

“Every deep feeling a human is capable of will be shaken loose by this profound book. Ariel Levy has taken grief and made art out of it.”—David Sedaris

“Ariel Levy is a writer of uncompromising honesty, remarkable clarity, and surprising humor gathered from the wreckage of tragedy. Her account of life doing its darnedest to topple her, and her refusal to be knocked down, will leave you shaken and inspired. I am the better for having read this book.”—Lena Dunham
 

About Ariel Levy

See more books from this Author
Ariel Levy is a contributing editor at New York magazine. This is her first book.
 
Published March 14, 2017 by Random House. 225 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Political & Social Sciences, Gay & Lesbian, Health, Fitness & Dieting. Non-fiction
Bestseller Status:
icon14
Peak Rank on Apr 16 2017
icon1
Weeks as Bestseller

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Rules Do Not Apply

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

An award-winning journalist tells the story of how her formerly charmed life in which "lost things could always be replaced" came to a brutally abrupt end.

Feb 28 2017 | Read Full Review of The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir

http://news.nationalpost.com

See more reviews from this publication

'Daring to think that the rules do not apply is the mark of a visionary. It's also a symptom of a narcissist'

Mar 16 2017 | Read Full Review of The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir

Star Tribune

See more reviews from this publication

NONFICTION: A writer for the New Yorker survives heartbreaking loss in this uneven memoir.

Mar 24 2017 | Read Full Review of The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir

The Independent

After losing her baby, the journalist's honest and touching memoir, in which tragedy and other problems struck at the heart of her perfect life, is about life not always giving us what we want .

Mar 15 2017 | Read Full Review of The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir

20Something Reads

A time to rediscover reading for pleasure --- and finally, read what you want.”.

Mar 14 2017 | Read Full Review of The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir

20Something Reads

Levy finds that the rules do not apply to any part of maturing, and her book serves as a touchstone for a generation of women coming of age after “being given the lavish gift of our own agency by feminism --- a belief that we could decide for ourselves how we would live, what would become of us.”...

Mar 23 2017 | Read Full Review of The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir

London Evening Standard

Read review.

Mar 16 2017 | Read Full Review of The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir

See more reviews from this publication

In “The Rules Do Not Apply,” Ariel Levy recounts how a tragedy upended her assumptions about life....

Apr 03 2017 | Read Full Review of The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir

Elle

After Levy deliberated for years about whether to have a child, enduring the loss of her son—whose tiny, 19-week-gestated self is described in detail, down to his eyebrows—is compounded by the loss of her relationship with Lucy, who had struggled for years with alcoholism.

Mar 08 2017 | Read Full Review of The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir

http://ew.com

Copyright © 2017 Time Inc.

Mar 14 2017 | Read Full Review of The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir

https://www.timeout.com

Two of the New Yorker’s shining stars—reporter Ariel Levy and TV critic Emily Nussbaum—gather together to discuss Levy's new memoir The Rules Do Not Apply and their shared history as colleagues at New York magazine, the New Yorker and beyond.

Mar 14 2017 | Read Full Review of The Rules Do Not Apply: A Memoir

Reader Rating for The Rules Do Not Apply
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 82 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×