The Scandalous Lady Wright by M.C. Beaton
(Royal Series)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


The upper class of the social circle regarded Sir Benjamin Wright with utmost honor and respect. Yet Lady Emma knew her husband was, in fact, a drunken jealous brute who delighted in humiliating her both in and out of the bedroom.

His murder had been a blessing, she thought - that is until the constable's accusing finger pointed to her. But it soon became apparent that her late husband hid secrets and enemies.

When the practical Comte Saint-Juste arrived on the scene offering his services, Lady Emma was about to discover what the French dedication to l'amour really meant


Countesses, Marquises, Lords and Ladies, Viscounts and Princesses all meet in the Royal series where they at once both live and try to avoid lives of scandal and sin, where love - we pray - trumps all but revenge is sometimes the name of the game, especially if inheritance, notoriety and fortune are part of the hand. Here, many threads are skillfully interwoven in a highly entertaining series that never fails to please or fall short of its mark.


From 1977 to the early 1990s, Marion Chesney wrote over one hundred romance novels. Now writing as M. C. Beaton, she is the bestselling award-winning author of two internationally successful mystery series - HAMISH MACBETH and AGATHA RAISIN. She lives in the United Kingdom.

About M.C. Beaton

See more books from this Author
Born in Glasgow, Scotland, Marion Chesney has written over a hundred books under her own name and the pseudonyms Ann Fairfax, Helen Crampton, Jennie Tremaine, Charlotte Ward, Sarah Chester, and M.C. Beaton. Chesney started her writing career while working as a fiction buyer for a bookstore in Glasgow. Working at one time or another as a theater critic, newspaper reporter, and editor, Chesney used her British background to write a series of regency romances set in England and Scotland. The Regency was a narrow period of time in British history when King George III of England was declared mad and locked away, replaced by his fun-loving eldest son as the regent of England. A Regency Romance captures the splendor of a short-lived romantic moment in history. Some of Chesney's regency romances include The Folly, Colonel Sandhurst to the Rescue, and Regency Gold. In 1986, Chesney was awarded the Romantic Times Award for Outstanding Regency Series Writer. Chesney has also written mystery series: The Hamish Macbeth Series, which became the inspiration for a television show in England, and The Agatha Raisin Series, about a retired advertising executive. Chesney, who at one time lived in Brooklyn, New York, now lives with her family near Kensington Palace in London.
Published January 15, 2014 by RosettaBooks. 192 pages
Genres: Romance, Literature & Fiction, History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense. Fiction

Reader Rating for The Scandalous Lady Wright

An aggregated and normalized score based on 13 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review