The Scandalous Marriage by M.C. Beaton
(Royal Series)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


As far as matrimonial prospects were concerned, Lucy Bliss was told she'd make an excellent clergyman's wife.

Her mother, however, had loftier aspirations for her lovely younger sister Belinda. Belinda would marry a duke. More specifically, the Duke of Wardshire. Lucy was truly horrified. "Lucifer" Wardshire! Why, he was rumored to be as wicked as the devil, with orgies and mistresses--and worse!

As the London Season unfolded, Lucy couldn't decide who was more abominable, her vulgar mama or the arrogant yet disconcertingly handsome duke. No matter, Lucy vowed to go to any lengths to protect her sister, even if her mission should take her into the very arms of the devilish duke himselfÉ.


Countesses, Marquises, Lords and Ladies, Viscounts and Princesses all meet in the Royal series where they at once both live and try to avoid lives of scandal and sin, where love - we pray - trumps all but revenge is sometimes the name of the game, especially if inheritance, notoriety and fortune are part of the hand. Here, many threads are skillfully interwoven in a highly entertaining series that never fails to please or fall short of its mark.


From 1977 to the early 1990s, Marion Chesney wrote over one hundred romance novels. Now writing as M. C. Beaton, she is the bestselling award-winning author of two internationally successful mystery series - HAMISH MACBETH and AGATHA RAISIN. She lives in the United Kingdom.

About M.C. Beaton

See more books from this Author
Born in Glasgow, Scotland, Marion Chesney has written over a hundred books under her own name and the pseudonyms Ann Fairfax, Helen Crampton, Jennie Tremaine, Charlotte Ward, Sarah Chester, and M.C. Beaton. Chesney started her writing career while working as a fiction buyer for a bookstore in Glasgow. Working at one time or another as a theater critic, newspaper reporter, and editor, Chesney used her British background to write a series of regency romances set in England and Scotland. The Regency was a narrow period of time in British history when King George III of England was declared mad and locked away, replaced by his fun-loving eldest son as the regent of England. A Regency Romance captures the splendor of a short-lived romantic moment in history. Some of Chesney's regency romances include The Folly, Colonel Sandhurst to the Rescue, and Regency Gold. In 1986, Chesney was awarded the Romantic Times Award for Outstanding Regency Series Writer. Chesney has also written mystery series: The Hamish Macbeth Series, which became the inspiration for a television show in England, and The Agatha Raisin Series, about a retired advertising executive. Chesney, who at one time lived in Brooklyn, New York, now lives with her family near Kensington Palace in London.
Published January 13, 2014 by RosettaBooks. 192 pages
Genres: Romance, Literature & Fiction, History. Fiction

Reader Rating for The Scandalous Marriage

An aggregated and normalized score based on 30 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review