The Schoolmaster's Daughter by John Smolens
A Novel of the American Revolution

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

From the author of The Anarchist and Cold—a gripping historical novel set during the American Revolution.

With the outbreak of the American revolution, Abigail Lovell's family is torn apart—while her schoolmaster father is an outspoken loyalist and prominent figurehead in the community, she and her two brothers engage in acts of espionage to undermine the British forces in Boston. Her sickly older brother, James, operates the patriots’ spy ring while Abigail acts as a courier, eluding increasingly aggressive British patrols. Meanwhile, her younger brother, Benjamin, slips out of Boston to fight alongside Abigail’s love, Ezra, in the battles at Lexington and Concord. With the help of her friend, Rachel revere, Abigail smuggles money and supplies out to Benjamin, Ezra, and other revolutionaries.

But when a British sergeant is found murdered, Abigail stands accused, and she now must fight to save herself and those she loves. in the tradition of Sally Gunning’s Bound and Diana Gabaldon’s An Echo in the Bone, The Schoolmaster’s Daughter is the story of a family torn asunder—and of a determined young woman who must make courageous decisions if she is to aid in liberating her country.
 

About John Smolens

See more books from this Author
John Smolens is author of Cold, The Invisible World, Fire Point, and The Anarchist. He received his MFA from the University of Iowa in 1984 and is currently head of the MFA program at Northern Michigan University. His novel The Schoolmaster's Daughter will be published by Pegasus Books in paperback in September, 2012. You can visit his site at www.johnsmolens.com.
 
Published September 1, 2011 by Pegasus. 368 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Action & Adventure, War. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Schoolmaster's Daughter

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Largely, though, Smolens strains hard to play up a feminist angle, from overdone egg imagery to thinly rendered supporting characters, including a stereotypically tough-talking prostitute and Paul Revere’s wife, Rachel, whose sole reason for existence seems to be making Abigail blush with bawdy t...

Sep 20 2011 | Read Full Review of The Schoolmaster's Daughter: ...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Boston smolders on the eve of the American Revolution in Smolens’s ambitious blend of fiction, history, battlefield romance, and intrigue. Drawing from the real-life Lovell family, with loyalist Bosto

Aug 15 2011 | Read Full Review of The Schoolmaster's Daughter: ...

Reader Rating for The Schoolmaster's Daughter
80%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 36 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×