The Science of Superstition by Bruce M. Hood
How the Developing Brain Creates Supernatural Beliefs

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating

Synopsis

“In an account chock full of real-world examples reinforced by experimental research, Hood’s marvelous book is an important contribution to the psychological literature that is revealing the actuality of our very irrational human nature.” — Science

In the vein of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink, Mary Roach’s Spook, and Dan Ariely’s Predictably Irrational, The Science of Superstition uses hard science to explain pervasive irrational beliefs and behaviors: from the superstitious rituals of sports stars, to the depreciated value of houses where murders were committed, to the adoration of Elvis.

 

About Bruce M. Hood

See more books from this Author
BRUCE HOOD is the author of The Science of Superstition and is one of the leading international authorities on child development and supernatural thinking in adults. He has a PhD from the University of Cambridge and has been a faculty member at UCL and Harvard and was a visiting scientist at MIT. He is currently the chair of developmental psychology at Bristol University in England and director of the Bristol Cognitive Development Centre. Born in Toronto, he now lives in Bristol, England.
 
Published April 1, 2009 by HarperCollins e-books. 324 pages
Genres: Health, Fitness & Dieting, Religion & Spirituality, Nature & Wildlife, Professional & Technical, Science & Math, Political & Social Sciences. Non-fiction

Reader Rating for The Science of Superstition
59%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 17 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×