The Sculptress by Minette Walters

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



Journalist Roz Leigh is drawn into the disturbing world of Olive, a huge, menacing woman imprisoned--perhaps wrongly--for the murders of her sister and mother. By the author of The Ice House.

About Minette Walters

See more books from this Author
British mystery writer Minette Walters began her literary career as a sub-editor at a romance publishing company. She wrote short stories and romance novels for a time before turning to writing mysteries. Her first mystery novel, The Ice House (1992), won the John Creasy Award for Best First Novel. Later novels have also been award winners. Scold's Bridle won a CWA Gold Dagger and The Sculptress (which was made into a BBC television play) won an Edgar Award.
Published January 1, 1993 by Macmillan. 320 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Sculptress

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Walters follows her dark debut, The Ice House (1992), with the even more striking tale of enormous, unloved Olive Martin, serving a life sentence after confessing to killing and dismembering her mother and sister.

May 20 2010 | Read Full Review of The Sculptress

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Roz Leigh, an author embittered by the tragic death of a child and a split from her husband, agrees to write the story of Olive Martin, a grossly fat, untidy woman serving a long prison sentence for the particularly grisly murder of her mother and sister.

| Read Full Review of The Sculptress

Reader Rating for The Sculptress

An aggregated and normalized score based on 46 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review