The Seasons on Henry's Farm by Terra Brockman
A Year of Food and Life on a Sustainable Farm

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating

Synopsis

Henry's Farm, run by Henry Brockman, is in central Illinois — some of the richest farming land in the world. There, he and his family — five generations of farmers, including sister Terra, the author — have bucked the traditional agribusiness conventional wisdom by farming in a way that's sensible, sustainable, and focused on producing healthy, nutritious food in ways that doesn't despoil the land. Terra Brockman tells the story of her family and their life on the farm in the form of a year-long memoir (with recipes) that takes readers through each season of life on the farm. Studded with vignettes, digressions, photographs, family stories, and illustrations of the farm's vivid plant life, the book is a one-of-a-kind treasure that will appeal to readers of Michael Pollan, E. B. White, Gretel Ehrlich, and Sandra Steingraber.
 

About Terra Brockman

See more books from this Author
Terra Brockman was raised in central Illinois, where four generations of her family had farmed. She earned a BA in biology and BA and MA degrees in English at Illinois State University, then lived and worked as a teacher, writer, and editor in Japan and New York City for fifteen years, with time out to travel extensively, from Nepal to Eritrea to Morocco to the Baltics. In 2001, she founded The Land Connection, a nonprofit working to save farmland, train new organic farmers, and connect consumers with fresh local foods.
 
Published April 28, 2010 by Agate Surrey. 301 pages
Genres: Crafts, Hobbies & Home, Cooking. Non-fiction

Reader Rating for The Seasons on Henry's Farm
95%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 113 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×