The Second Coming of Lucy Hatch by Marsha Moyer
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

A fresh talent weaves an engaging tale of love, life, and second chances in this stirring first novel set in a small Southern town

For fans of Billie Letts, Adriana Trigiani, and Lorna Landvik comes this uniquely heartfelt and spirited story from a sparkling new voice. Farm wife Lucy Hatch never dreamed her husband would walk out into the field one morning and never come back, leaving her a widow at thirty-three. And when she returns to her tiny Texas hometown, contemplating a life of quiet solitude, the last thing she expects to find is Ash Farrell -- a dashing man who has everything to teach Lucy about working through heartache and reaching to claim new love.

But their budding romance is far from typical: Lucy and Ash must endure not just an irate ex-girlfriend, a false arrest, and a twenty-year flood, but every watchful eye and wagging tongue in town. Filled with richness, humor, and a vivid medley of characters, The Second Coming of Lucy Hatch transports readers on Lucy's journey as she learns to resolve her doubts and embrace a renewed sense of herself as a woman.

 

About Marsha Moyer

See more books from this Author
Marsha Moyer is a native of Texas and has lived there all her life. She is the author of one previous novel, The Second Coming of Lucy Hatch.
 
Published August 6, 2002 by William Morrow. 304 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Romance. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Second Coming of Lucy Hatch

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

When Geneva finds a house for Lucy to rent and learns that Lucy is hardly beside herself with grief for Mitchell, she insists that Lucy accompany her and Bailey to the Round Up, the place where everyone goes to dance and hear handsome Ash Farrell, a local carpenter, songwriter, and singer.

| Read Full Review of The Second Coming of Lucy Hat...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Plangent with sorrow, wonder and hope, this is an immensely appealing novel about a woman who finds love the second time around. Suddenly widowed at 33 after 14 years of a barren, passionless marri

Jun 24 2002 | Read Full Review of The Second Coming of Lucy Hat...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

As the story of Lucy's psychological and emotional bewilderment and her gradual coming of age develops, first novelist Moyer seduces the reader with pitch-perfect prose fed by an observant eye and a wise heart.

| Read Full Review of The Second Coming of Lucy Hat...

Entertainment Weekly

The marriage was never passionate, but grief is grief: ''I didn't love Mitchell, but he was mine and that was something.'' So begins Moyer's charming, hilarious, frustrating novel, in which the disconnect between the sophisticated breezy voice of the narrator and the central-casting characte...

Aug 23 2002 | Read Full Review of The Second Coming of Lucy Hat...

https://bookpage.com

What lifts this book above a formula romance is its occasional sharp humor and the feeling that there was more than one road not taken in Lucy's married life.

Jun 17 2016 | Read Full Review of The Second Coming of Lucy Hat...

Reader Rating for The Second Coming of Lucy Hatch
90%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 47 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×