The Serpent's Seed by David Maring

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



The world is moving toward a clash between the forces of good and evil. An Archaeologist, Bill Weston, pursuing leads that will verify the accuracy of Genesis' account of man's origin, is drawn into a whirlpool of murder and international intrigue.
Weston and his assistant, Rachael, discover a map in an ancient library that reveals the location of Enoch. This was the first city built by Cain in the Land of Nod. The site is near a secret nuclear facility in Iran.
Weston obtains financial assistance from Henley, a dealer in antiquities. He is unaware that Henley is a member of The Society. This organization is composed of the descendants of Cain, whose birth was the result of a sexual union between Eve and the Devil. The Society has a hierarchy that ranges from the Drones, a species that has all the attributes of man except a soul, to the Cai'sh, the direct descendants of Cain.
The Society forms an alliance with Islamic terrorists. Unlike other, The Society looks forward to Armageddon. Their bible,The Sacred Book, discloses events that must occur before the devil can return to earth.
A trail of murder follows Weston and Rachael as assassins try to destroy evidence that might lead the world to discover the existence of The Society. A New York detective's investigation into the murders leads him to the Middle East where he discovers that there is more fact then myth to ancient stories.
When the Pentagon discovers that Weston is going to Iran, they recruit him for espionage. The objective is the destruction of a nuclear facility.
The attack on the facility brings down the wrath of the United Nations. Criminal charges are filed in the World Court at the Hague against the American President.

About David Maring

See more books from this Author
Romance author Jayne Ann Krentz was born in Borrego Springs, California on March 28, 1948. She received a B.A. in history from the University of California at Santa Cruz and a Masters degree in library science from San Jose State University. Before becoming a full-time author, she worked as a librarian. Her novels include: Truth or Dare, All Night Long, and Copper Beach. She has written under seven different names: Jayne Bentley, Amanda Glass, Stephanie James, Jayne Taylor, Jayne Castle, Amanda Quick and Jayne Ann Krentz. Her first book, Gentle Pirate, was published in 1980 under the name Jayne Castle. She currently uses only three personas to represent her three specialties. She uses the name Jayne Ann Krentz for her contemporary pieces, Amanda Quick for her historical fiction pieces, and Jayne Castle for her futuristic pieces. She has received numerous awards for her work including the 1995 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Trust Me, the 2004 Romantic Times Reviewer's Choice Award for Falling Awake, the Romantic Times Career Achievement Award, the Romantic Times Jane Austen Award, and the Susan Koppelman Award for Feminist Studies for Dangerous Men and Adventurous Women: Romance Writers on the Appeal of the Romance.
Published September 4, 2012 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. 506 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Serpent's Seed

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

The romance between Bill and Rachael earns its ink—the two don’t jump into bed right away, opting instead to internally debate anything they say or do with one another.

Oct 03 2012 | Read Full Review of The Serpent's Seed

Rate this book!

Add Review