The Shadow Collector's Apprentice by Amy Gordon

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



Fans of Holly Horvath and Kate DiCamillo will love this warm, eccentric, and enchanting middle-grade novel.

Peculiar things are going on in the town of Medley over the summer of 1963, but it's hard for twelve-year-old Cully Pennyacre to figure out what it all means. His father has disappeared mysteriously, people don't seem like themselves, and his apprenticeship at Betty's Attic antique store gets stranger each day. The owner has a disturbing hobby of collecting people's shadows with a weird projectorlike machine and foul-smelling chemicals. He claims the process is harmless, but it leaves his victims listless and passive. Odd happenings become the norm as Cully, Batty's granddaughter Isabel, and Cully's best friend band together to get to the bottom of a secret black market in human shadows.

About Amy Gordon

See more books from this Author
Amy Gordon has written several books for children. She taught drama at the Bement School. She has lived all over the world, including in France, England, and Brazil, and now resides in Massachusetts.
Published February 1, 2012 by Holiday House. 208 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Young Adult. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Shadow Collector's Apprentice

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Cully Pennyacre, 12, reluctantly becomes the apprentice of antiques dealer Batty, who seems to be up to something with his shadow-collecting hobby.

Feb 15 2012 | Read Full Review of The Shadow Collector's Appren...

Historical Novel Society

But the path to return a father to his family and balance to small town life is marred by an underdeveloped setting and plot points that make little sense, even within this book’s fantasy environment.

| Read Full Review of The Shadow Collector's Appren...

Rate this book!

Add Review