The Shadows by Jacqueline West
(The Books of Elsewhere, Vol. 1)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 13 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

For fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap comes the first book in the award-winning, New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series.

This house is keeping secrets . . .

When eleven-year-old Olive and her parents move into the crumbling mansion on Linden Street and find it filled with mysterious paintings, Olive knows the place is creepy—but it isn’t until she encounters its three talking cats that she realizes there’s something darkly magical afoot. Then Olive finds a pair of antique spectacles in a dusty drawer and discovers the most peculiar thing yet: She can travel inside the house’s spooky paintings to a world that’s strangely quiet . . . and eerily sinister. But in entering Elsewhere, Olive has been ensnared in a mystery darker and more dangerous than she could have imagined, confronting a power that wants to be rid of her by any means necessary. With only the cats and an unusual boy she meets in Elsewhere on her side, it’s up to Olive to save the house from the shadows, before the lights go out for good.
 

About Jacqueline West

See more books from this Author
Jacqueline West (www.jacquelinewest.com), a two-time Pushcart nominee for poetry, lives in Red Wing, Minnesota.
 
Published June 14, 2011 by Puffin Books. 257 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Children's Books, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Shadows

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Preoccupied parents, a solitary young girl, talking cats—sound familiar?

| Read Full Review of The Shadows (The Books of Els...

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

In making "Paradise Lost: The Child Murders at Robin Hood Hills," Joe Berlinger and Bruce Sinofsky discovered the kind of small-town nightmare that is a documentary film maker's dream.

Mar 26 1996 | Read Full Review of The Shadows (The Books of Els...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

She explores the house's eccentricities and discovers that, by donning a pair of spectacles, she can enter the house's many unsettling paintings.

May 31 2010 | Read Full Review of The Shadows (The Books of Els...

New York Journal of Books

See more reviews from this publication

The glasses also allow Olive to travel back and forth into the twenty-plus paintings that are secured so tightly to the walls as to be irremovable parts of the creepy house.Despite the cats’ warnings, Olive becomes careless.

Jun 30 2010 | Read Full Review of The Shadows (The Books of Els...

Washington Independent Review of Books

Using the framework of three waves and counter-waves of violence and reactions, the author traces al-Qaeda’s attacks and the West’s responses since 1998.

Jun 14 2012 | Read Full Review of The Shadows (The Books of Els...

Cocktails and Books

Neither Jes, Draven or even the Shadow Unit team do a really great job of sifting through this mess to ensure both Jes and her daughter are safe.

Jul 01 2012 | Read Full Review of The Shadows (The Books of Els...

Daily Kos

Punitive boycotts as against AZ notwithstanding, there's more that unites us - immigrant rights, mountaintop removal, miners' and EFCA rights - than divides us.

Jun 05 2010 | Read Full Review of The Shadows (The Books of Els...

KidsReads

And then Olive discovers that when she puts on those old glasses, she can actually climb into the paintings.

Jun 14 2011 | Read Full Review of The Shadows (The Books of Els...

Shelf Awareness

Google is still deciding whether it will follow the model where publishers set the retail price or where Google sets retail prices."

| Read Full Review of The Shadows (The Books of Els...

Project MUSE

The atmospheric old house is a new home for eleven-year-old Olive, and though she finds it fascinating, with its colorful contents that include a collection of arresting paintings, she also finds it creepy.

| Read Full Review of The Shadows (The Books of Els...

London School of Economics

Nationalism posed significant problems for the US in Latin America – and, in some cases, would be viewed as part of a broader Communist conspiracy – but the Eisenhower administration did not hold that this was illustrative of a coherent Soviet move into the region or that it automatically meant t...

Jul 04 2011 | Read Full Review of The Shadows (The Books of Els...

Arlington Library

It takes a darker turn as Olive searches for a spell book to help out a painted friend from the first book.

Sep 27 2011 | Read Full Review of The Shadows (The Books of Els...

WV Gazette

That's not to say your Ninja is helpless - drawing your blade on an unsuspecting guard triggers a zoomed-in camera that showcases your brutal kill - but there's no such thing as taking a head-on approach in "Mark of the Ninja."

Sep 07 2012 | Read Full Review of The Shadows (The Books of Els...

Reader Rating for The Shadows
95%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 174 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×