The Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

His changing relationship with Nix is the heart of the second book, which is undeniably enjoyable — but I missed the other characters I'd grown to love. I would have minded all of this less if The Ship Beyond Time had been the second book of a trilogy.
-NPR

Synopsis

The breathtaking sequel to the acclaimed The Girl from Everywhere.

“Fresh and exciting . . . truly the perfect playground for adventure.”—NPR.org

“Thrilling.”—School Library Journal (starred review)

Nix has spent her whole life journeying to places both real and imagined aboard her time-traveling father’s ship. And now it’s finally time for her to take the helm. Her future lies bright before her—until she learns that she is destined to lose the one she loves.

Desperate to change her fate, Nix sails her crew to a mythical utopia to meet another Navigator who promises to teach her how to manipulate time. But everything in this utopia is constantly changing, and nothing is what it seems. Not even her relationship with Kash: best friend, thief, charmer extraordinaire.

Heidi Heilig weaves fantasy, history, and romance together to tackle questions of free will, fate, and what it means to love another person. At the center of this adventure are extraordinary, complicated, and multicultural characters who leap off the page, and an intricate, recognizable world that has no bounds.

This sequel—and conclusion—to The Girl from Everywhere includes five black-and-white maps of historical and mythical locations. Fans of Leigh Bardugo, Sabaa Tahir, and Outlander will be swept away.

 

About Heidi Heilig

See more books from this Author
Heidi Heilig grew up in Hawaii, where she rode horses and raised peacocks. Her favorite thing, outside of writing, is travel, and she has haggled for rugs in Morocco, hiked the trails of the Ko’olau Valley, and huddled in a tent in Africa. She holds an MFA from New York University in musical theatre writing, and she’s written book and lyrics for several shows. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband, her son, and their pet snake. Author Image 1
 
Published February 28, 2017 by Greenwillow Books. 464 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction, Children's Books, History, Romance. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Ship Beyond Time
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

NPR

Above average
Reviewed by Caitlyn Paxson on Apr 01 2017

His changing relationship with Nix is the heart of the second book, which is undeniably enjoyable — but I missed the other characters I'd grown to love. I would have minded all of this less if The Ship Beyond Time had been the second book of a trilogy.

Read Full Review of The Ship Beyond Time | See more reviews from NPR

Reader Rating for The Ship Beyond Time
92%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 72 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×