The Sixty-Eight Rooms by Marianne Malone
( Adventures)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 13 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Almost everybody who has grown up in Chicago knows about the Thorne Rooms. Housed in the Children’s Galleries of the Chicago Art Institute, they are a collection of 68 exquisitely crafted miniature rooms made in the 1930s by Mrs. James Ward Thorne. Each of the 68 rooms is designed in the style of a different historic period, and every detail is perfect, from the knobs on the doors to the candles in the candlesticks. Some might even say, the rooms are magic.

Imagine—what if you discovered a key that allowed you to shrink so that you were small enough to sneak inside and explore the rooms’ secrets? What if you discovered that others had done so before you? And that someone had left something important behind?

Fans of Chasing Vermeer, The Doll People, and From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler will be swept up in the magic of this exciting art adventure!


From the Hardcover edition.
 

About Marianne Malone

See more books from this Author
MARIANNE MALONE is the mother of three grown children, a former art teacher, and the cofounder of the Campus School Middle School for Girls in Urbana, Illinois. She and her husband divide their time between Urbana and Washington, DC. This is her first novel. You can visit her Web site at MarianneMalone.com.
 
Published February 12, 2010 by Random House Books for Young Readers. 280 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Children's Books. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Sixty-Eight Rooms

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Who hasn't seen the carefully composed exhibits of miniatures at a museum, or even a simple dollhouse, and wondered what it would be like to be small enough to walk inside?

Jan 20 2011 | Read Full Review of The Sixty-Eight Rooms (The Si...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Debut author Malone pens a fantasy tale of museum time travel that suffers from an underdeveloped cast of characters and some disappointing plotting decisions. When daring 11-year-old Jack finds a

Jan 18 2010 | Read Full Review of The Sixty-Eight Rooms (The Si...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

When daring 11-year-old Jack finds a key in the hallway behind the Thorne Rooms, 68 miniature historical dioramas housed in the Art Institute of Chicago, he hands it to his best friend, Ruthie, a cautious girl who yearns for excitement.

Jan 18 2010 | Read Full Review of The Sixty-Eight Rooms (The Si...

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

The Sixty-Eight Rooms is a fantastic book for middle grade readers who like their stories fantastic ...

Mar 09 2010 | Read Full Review of The Sixty-Eight Rooms (The Si...

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

When the magic key Jack discovers displays an astonishing ability to shrink Ruthie down to five inches tall, the whole world changes around them.

Mar 09 2010 | Read Full Review of The Sixty-Eight Rooms (The Si...

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

The Sixty-Eight Rooms is a fantastic book for middle grade readers who like their stories fantastic and fun.

Mar 09 2010 | Read Full Review of The Sixty-Eight Rooms (The Si...

City Book Review

Stealing Magic is about an art thief stealing three magic keys.

Apr 20 2012 | Read Full Review of The Sixty-Eight Rooms (The Si...

Fantasy Literature

The book moves back and forth between Ruthie and Jack’s adventures in these worlds, their attempts to sneak into the Art Institute in order to enter the rooms, and their quest in the real world to find out the mysteries behind the Thorne Rooms: who created them and how, where the key came from, h...

| Read Full Review of The Sixty-Eight Rooms (The Si...

Fantasy Literature

Sixth-graders Ruthie and Jack visit the Thorne Miniature Rooms at the Art Institute of Chicago, and discover a magic key that enables them to shrink to doll-size and explore the rooms up close.

| Read Full Review of The Sixty-Eight Rooms (The Si...

Kidz World

While visiting the Thorne Rooms exhibit at the Chicago Art Institute, best friends Ruthie and Jack discover a key that transforms their experience from educational to magical.

Apr 05 2010 | Read Full Review of The Sixty-Eight Rooms (The Si...

Booklist Online

But there’s good news—by subscribing today, you will receive 22 issues of Booklist magazine, 4 issues of Book Links, and single-login access to Booklist Online and over 160,000 reviews.

Jan 01 2010 | Read Full Review of The Sixty-Eight Rooms (The Si...

KidsReads

This debut novelist, who lives near Chicago, has set THE SIXTY-EIGHT ROOMS in the Art Institute, as Ruthie and her friend Jack discover that the rooms are actually magical.

Feb 23 2010 | Read Full Review of The Sixty-Eight Rooms (The Si...

Chicago Tribune

With her new young adult novel, 'The Sixty-Eight Rooms,' artist and former art teacher Marianne Malone has tapped into a fantasy that is both very Chicago and completely universal.

May 17 2010 | Read Full Review of The Sixty-Eight Rooms (The Si...

Reader Rating for The Sixty-Eight Rooms
76%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 146 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×