The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

73%

15 Critic Reviews

This honest, complex debut is distinguished by a dreamy California setting and poetic images that will draw readers into Lennie's world, particularly in the notes Lennie writes about life with her sister on bits of paper...
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

Adrift after her sister Bailey's sudden death, Lennie finds herself torn between quiet, seductive Toby—Bailey's boyfriend who shares her grief—and Joe, the new boy in town who bursts with life and musical genius. Each offers Lennie something she desperately needs... though she knows if the two of them collide her whole world will explode.

Join Lennie on this heartbreaking and hilarious journey of profound sorrow and mad love, as she makes colossal mistakes and colossal discoveries, as she traipses through band rooms and forest bedrooms and ultimately right into your heart.

As much a celebration of love as a poignant portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often uproarious, and absolutely unforgettable.
 

About Jandy Nelson

See more books from this Author
Jandy Nelson (www.jandynelson.com) received a BA from Cornell, an MFA from Brown in poetry, and another MFA from Vermont College in writing for children and young adults. A literary agent for many years, she is also a published poet. The Sky Is Everywhere is her first novel. Jandy lives in San Francisco.
 
Published March 9, 2010 by Speak. 320 pages
Genres: Romance, Young Adult, Literature & Fiction, Arts & Photography, Children's Books. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
1
Want to Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Sky Is Everywhere
All: 15 | Positive: 14 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Above average

This well-intentioned story about love and loss too often gets tangled in its own emo.

Read Full Review of The Sky Is Everywhere | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Above average
on Feb 22 2010

This honest, complex debut is distinguished by a dreamy California setting and poetic images that will draw readers into Lennie's world, particularly in the notes Lennie writes about life with her sister on bits of paper...

Read Full Review of The Sky Is Everywhere | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Booklist Online

Above average
on Jan 01 2010

A story of love, loss, and healing that will resonate with readers long after they have finished reading.

Read Full Review of The Sky Is Everywhere

The Bookbag

Good
on Aug 13 2012

This is breathtakingly, incredibly, heartbreakingly beautiful...creates a cast of compelling characters and manages to make Toby and Lennie so sympathetic that what seemed to be a rather unlikely love triangle works surprisingly well.

Read Full Review of The Sky Is Everywhere

Teen Reads

Above average
on Mar 09 2010

THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE makes a dynamic debut for Jandy Nelson. Twisted romance drives this kooky story, which is simultaneously belabored by grief and absurdly funny.

Read Full Review of The Sky Is Everywhere

Common Sense Media

Above average
on Mar 09 2010

There are probably too many wacky characters and twists in this plot, but Lennie's authentic voice keeps the story grounded. As she struggles both with losing her sister and falling in love for the first time, her narration remains honest...

Read Full Review of The Sky Is Everywhere

Shelf Awareness

Above average
on Feb 17 2010

Jandy Nelson constructs a suspenseful and gripping love triangle with two memorable suitors who expose the entangled joy and pain at the root of the heroine's decision:

Read Full Review of The Sky Is Everywhere

M/C Anderson

Good
on Jul 02 2010

JANDY Nelson’s debut novel, The Sky Is Everywhere is hardly a novel, but more like a beautiful piece of prose spun into a captivating tale. Forget the tactile beauty of this book...Nelson’s words sing with acumen and poise.

Read Full Review of The Sky Is Everywhere

Buffalo Rising

Above average
on Mar 13 2011

The Sky is Everywhere is a tangled mosaic of living, loving, and loss. In its dark intensity, it is the "color of extraordinary."

Read Full Review of The Sky Is Everywhere

Wovenmyst

Good
on Oct 06 2011

The Sky Is Everywhere will make you cry, laugh, throw things, and everything in between. This novel is about trying to start new and fresh, while still remembering the past, instead of living in it.

Read Full Review of The Sky Is Everywhere

WAPL Teens

Above average
on Apr 19 2010

The Sky is Everywhere is author Jandy's Nelson's first book, and I can not wait for her to write more. Fans of Sarah Dessen, Elizabeth Scott and Laurie Halse Anderson will enjoy the drama and romance with a twist of eccentric family.

Read Full Review of The Sky Is Everywhere

TATAL

Above average
on Sep 17 2010

One of the thing that sets this book apart is that Lennie doesn't magically heal or work everything out. Instead she has to go back to school and deal with her friends and her sister's friends...But, still, this is not a depressing book.

Read Full Review of The Sky Is Everywhere

Teen Ink

Good

This book is absolutely flawless from the descriptive writing she does to the phenominal characters she lets jumps off the pages. It is no doubt a knockout! Throughout this entire book, I felt like I was with Lennie the entire time...

Read Full Review of The Sky Is Everywhere

Teen Ink

Above average

Jandy Nelson introduces you to the city of Clover, where a world of heart wrenching grief and the desire for unconditional love takes place in her breathtaking novel, The Sky is Everywhere.

Read Full Review of The Sky Is Everywhere

Shelf Awareness

Good

From the first paragraph, Jandy Nelson brilliantly navigates Lennie’s course between despair and hope, sorrow and humor: “Gram is worried about me. It’s not just because my sister Bailey died four weeks ago...

Read Full Review of The Sky Is Everywhere

Reader Rating for The Sky Is Everywhere
89%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 431 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Thais

Thais 24 Jan 2015

Added the book to want to read list

×