The Slightly True Story Of Cedar B. Hartley by Martine Murray

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

In the tradition of BECAUSE OF WINN-DIXIE and THE BEAN TREES comes a novel that charms and amazes, with a voice that draws you in like a warm-hearted charismatic friend.

Cedar B. Hartley is exasperating and potentially infamous.
She steps on cracks. She plans to live an unusual life. She is the winner of her school's Bat Pole Championship, (which she made up). She misses her brother Barnaby, who ran away, and who sends her postcards from all over the country. And she's definitely a hopeless winker -- both eyes go at once, like a blink.
But Cedar B. Hartley has potential. She knows the d ifference between touching and touching on a couch. She knows the long distance between an idea and the real thing. And she has a green thumb for people, like Ricci, the
 

About Martine Murray

See more books from this Author
Martine Murray is the author of "A Dog Called Bear,
 
Published January 17, 2003 by Macmillan Children's Books. 240 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction, Action & Adventure. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Slightly True Story Of Cedar B. Hartley

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

The Slightly True Story of Cedar B Hartley (Who Planned to Live an Unusual Life) by Martine Murray 221pp, Macmillan, £4.99 Once in a while you read a book so perfect you can't imagine it being written any other way.

Sep 11 2004 | Read Full Review of The Slightly True Story Of Ce...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Cedar's widowed mom is busy with her job, and Cedar misses her 19-year-old brother, Barnaby, who has run away from boarding school (but sends postcards with quasi-poetic messages).

| Read Full Review of The Slightly True Story Of Ce...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In what PW called a "promising if uneven debut," a 12-year-old takes pride in her motley crew of friends until she meets a boy who is the son of a circus performer.

| Read Full Review of The Slightly True Story Of Ce...

RT Book Reviews

Search books by title, genre, publication month, publication year, and rating or search by any combination of these options (i.e.

| Read Full Review of The Slightly True Story Of Ce...

Reader Rating for The Slightly True Story Of Cedar B. Hartley
80%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 8 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×